h1

Trekking XXL Pro Natura socks

August 11, 2009

Trekking XXL Pro Natura socks
Finally finished my father’s size 12 socks….they are pulled at the heel to show how the toe fits.

I knit the first sock, then knit the second sock and ran out of yarn at the toe. I frogged back the first and second sock to the toe and tried to divide the yarn, but when I finished the first sock again…it was my size, not size men’s 12.

So, I went through my stash and found some green Knit picks yarn that worked perfect. I incorporated 2 rows of KP yarn green colored and then 2 or 3 rows of the Trekking until I thought I had enough yarn, then finished with the Trekking. I like how it turned out and I don’t think you can tell that I ran out of yarn. Either way, I don’t think my dad will care.

The Trekking Pro Natura yarn is superwash wool and bamboo and I think the bamboo gives it a really soft feel as well as a nice drape.

A+ for this yarn!

I roughly used the Mr. Pitt’s sock pattern, mostly the CO # and the 3X1 rib….I did two different types of short row heels. Next time will not CO as many….as it really produced a very stretchy sock.

The first sock has the short row heel that I learned from a socks that rock pattern. It incorporates YO’s and then when you turn the heel you do a lot of K3tog and P3tog.

However, when I went to do the second sock, I couldn’t get it from showing these holes…some how I was doing it different than the first sock. This is weird and I redid it 2 or 3 times and got the same effect.

Finally, I tried a different method and LOVE the heal it produces and it is so easy! I am going to be lousy about explaining it, but you basically knit and purl one stitch less on each row and then after you turn the heel and go back you pull up a stitch from the row below and then knit them together. It produces no holes. I will try to find the link of the tutorial.  Here is is…it is a video!  Pink Argyl’s short row sock tutorial.

Next Up:  Socks for me…looks awesome and feels awesome, too…alpaca…yum!

Alpaca...yum!

4 comments

  1. Nice-I have to patch the socks you made me last year. I plan to dye the patches and see how it goes (they were my fave socks ever), so I know your dad is gonna love his!


  2. I think your dads socks look great and you’re right, that green is perfect and I like the toes especially. Now I LOVE your new socks and can’t wait to see them finished.


  3. They look great! I’m going to go watch the video now. I’m always looking for different/new/easy heels. Thanks for the link.


  4. Thanks everyone! Deneen – maybe I will have a chance to make you another pair before Xmas. Did you like having the ankle socks? Those are pretty fast to make or do you want them with a longer cuff.

    Sara, the technique is really pretty easy, just don’t be afraid of pulling the stitch up from the row below. I do this a lot of times in other knitting when I want to add a stitch and then delete it inconspicuously.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

