h1

Sad Day

February 22, 2005

This weekend my 11 year old black lab, Callie got
very, very sick. She got a disease called IMHA or
immune-mediated hemolytic anemia. It is a disease
where her immune system was attacking her red blood
cells. Over the past few months Tony and I noticed a
few things different about Callie, but nothing that
showed how sick she was. She hid her illness from us.
On Saturday she wouldn’t get up to go outside, I knew
immediately she was very ill.

Saturday night I came back from the vet with hopes
that Callie would get better and fight the disease.
The disease I have been told is a very difficult one
to overcome and even dogs that overcome it can relapse
within 6 months. Sunday morning Callie looked okay
but by Sunday night I knew the disease had overcome
her. I took her to the vet hospital and stood by her
side and rubbed her head and kissed her and told her
it was okay and that I would be okay.

This has been one of the hardest decisions I have had
to make. I didn’t want to let go of her. She has
been my companion and friend through many years and
many stages of my life. It was such a sudden thing I
really wasn’t prepared for her to leave so soon. I
think a lot about her and have been writing some
stories about some of our adventures together.

It is probably silly for some of you to think that
losing a pet could be so traumatic. Callie always
loved kids. In fact, her most favorite thing to do
was to run over to where kids were and jump on them
and play with them. She was just so happy to be
around kids. Well, I realized that Callie was right
at their eye level. Callie thought of herself as a
kid. I could see this when her and Sierra would play.
There aren’t too many dogs who would allow a 3 year
old to play dress up with them. Callie was my kid.
She was loved and is missed.

5 comments

  1. Well, my dear, this post of yours pushed me to finally set up my own blog, something I’d been meaning to do for awhile anyway. But since your site requires folks to have a blogger account to comment (you can change that, you know), I have gone ahead and done it. This post of yours needed to be commented on.

    I just wanted to extend my sympathy to you in the loss of Callie. As someone who is owned by a loving pet-master (a feline), I can certainly empathize with your feelings of loss, especially over the sudden nature of it. Folks who do not have pets in their lives have a harder time understanding that losing them is no less painful than losing any other member of the family, and a proper mourning period is needed to honor what they’ve meant to us. Sending you and all who loved Callie a special hug, and a virtual hankie…

    And now, I must go and figure out all the things I need to do to get my blog ready for prime-time.


  2. What a loving tribute. I love dogs and had one all the way up until college. In fact, I still have my Mom’s when I’m home for a visit. Thanks for sharing. 🙂


  3. I’m so sorry about your Dear Callie. Hugs to you and your family


  4. Came across the post looking for the poncho and hat (which are lovely) you posted on Crochetville. I’m so sorry to hear about you losing your dog; it’s not silly at all to be torn up over it. A little over a year ago I lost a dog to a genetic disorder; we only had him for 2 weeks, but the loss was still crushing. It’s amazing how quickly they can find a place in our hearts. Looking forward to hearing about your adventures with Callie.


  5. Thank you for all of your kind words.



Leave a Reply

