h1

Poncho

March 7, 2005

The poncho, shown above in Homespun Coral Gables was a pretty interesting learning experience to make. I could find no pattern in homespun, so was “winging it.” The first one I made was huge and could fit me, but looked weird. This was the second version. I did it in double crochet. I used a K hook and crocheted 42 chains, then did double crochet for 15 rows. I did 2 rectangles of this. The problem came when I joined them together. The neck hole was the size of a doll’s head. So, I folded one side to make a collar. (If I try this again I am going to chain 52 rows.) The flower is of my own design, with 10 outside petals of 8 chains, 10 inside petals of 6 chains and 10 inside petals of 4 chains. It kind of reminds me of a dahlia. The hat is from Lion Brand’s Chenille Thick and Quick Hat and Scarf Set, except I modified the bottom of the hat so it looked more like a beanie. I did it the same pattern with a K hook and it ended up fitting my 3 1/2 year old daughter, perfect!

One comment

  1. Try the Lion Brand Granny Square poncho pattern on their website. It’s made out of homespun, although you can use any boucle yarn. I’ve made several and they are always a big hit!!!–>



Leave a Reply

