h1

BACK!

August 3, 2005

First off, this may be too soon to tell, as I am still on pain meds and muscle relaxers, however I think the surgery is a success. I don’t have that severe pain in my back that I use to get when I would lay down in my bed. I don’t think any amount of pain medicine could ever take that away, so am happy not to have that. My back still hurts, but it is related to muscle tightness and spasms that are happening because they have been cut and traumatized from the surgery. I walk with such ease and really am doing well. This is just thrilling!

I am also back to knitting and crocheting. I made this top which is from tiny birds website. I also made this hat from Tiff’s website. I changed the hat a little bit. I repeated the pattern for Row 16 all the way to Row 23, then I did a row of front loop sc with the increase and then 2 rows of sc. I like how it turned out. I was making it as a sunhat for my Maddie, but I think it is too big for her, so may go to Sierra for the time being. I used this yarn. For the top I used size 6 needles and for the hat I used a size 7/G hook. I loved working with this yarn. The colorway is gorgeous and the yarn has a sleek, silky feel to it. I wish I could afford to buy more of it, but it was my treat for my birthday a few months ago and I found it at a yarn shop up in Mendocino.

I will post pictures tomorrow!

ps…thanks for all of your support regarding my back surgery recovery. It is really nice to have gotten cards from people and e-cards. This has been an emotional time for me as it is hard to give up things that I normally do with ease, such as bending, lifting, etc. I am a homemaker and how can I not pick up my 15 month old daughter? It is very difficult to watch my daughter throw a fit because mommy can’t hold her. There are so many feelings and emotions regarding this surgery that I go through throughout the day. It will get better. After going through this I am also sensitive to the selfishness of others. I know that is crazy, but there is so much that I have to deal with and change that it is hard to see other people’s points of view on things. Maybe this is a normal thing after surgery, I don’t know, but I don’t have the patience to deal with other people’s pettiness. Day by day, day by day…

Leave a Reply

