h1

KnitPicks, DPN’s, and Plants

August 23, 2005

I ordered from knit picks….sh…sh…sh…I never found out what the problem was, but it is good to be persistant.

Oh…and can someone help me? I don’t have one of those cool needle id set thingy. I bought the Susan Bates Sock Set DPN’s. The problem is, I don’t know what color is which. I can figure out the biggest…but I guess I am size impaired. What is bigger? Red or blue? I am guessing red is bigger.

Also, I am having a plant identification problem. I will be posting some pictures soon. In the pictures. I need to know…. Weed or Bush??….. and then the next one will be Tree or Bush??… and then Dead or Alive….and finally a picture showing my Gardenia Bush, the one bush I actually know what it is and love the flowers.

Weed or Plant??? It is about 6 plus feet tall.

Above Picture: Tree or Bush???? It has grown above the fence and the branches are about 12 feet tall. I am afraid to look for a trunk.

Dead Or Alive??? I was just thinking it is a seasonal dry looking thing…not sure though.

Gardenia – too hot to bloom

6 comments

  1. I’m not sure on most of those plants, but as to the dead or alive one, the way I usually tell is to find a bit near the base of the plant, with my fingernail scratch just enough to see if there is any green under there. If there’s green it’s alive ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’d probably trim it back and wait to see what happens in the spring. Unles it’s one you should wait to trim till spring. I always have to look that stuff up, but when in doubt I trim in the late summer early fall so it has time to prep itself before freezes start.


  2. Hi. Thanks for the welcome into the Crochet Blog Ring you posted on my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚


  3. The first one, weed or plant is probably a plant, but if you don’t like it, get rid of it. The second one tree or bush is a bush, so it needs to be pruned, I have one just like it in my yard. The dead or alive one looks alive, but barley. Does it get enough water? And as for the gardenia, it should bloom in the March-June. It needs to be in full sunlight and the soil needs to be tilled every so often and also wood chips or mulch around it to keep the roots moist, but not soggy.


  4. I have no idea on those plants…or weeds, as the case may be.


  5. Marvie has a good point on the alive or dead – I try bending the twigs backwards – if they snap (and it’s brown inside), deadie dead dead). The middle plant (two pics) looks like some form of privet to me. In Oz they are weeds. I have to pull one out of the front yard, or at least DH does as it is too big for me.
    f you didn’t plant it, it is probably a weed, especially if it is growing in a bad place.


  6. Thanks for all of the information, everyone. My husband is on vacation next week, so I am going to have him working out in the yard. He will pull the weed, and make sure the dead plant is getting enough water. Oh, and he definately is cutting the tree…I mean, bush!



Leave a Reply

