h1

Debbie Bliss Nell

September 15, 2005


So, I decided to knit Debbie Bliss Nell for my daughter Sierra, in Cotton-Ease, Sugar Plum…which is a purple color. I don’t know how this happened, but I made a swatch and got the correct gauge. However, now that I have knitted the front of it the gauge is off. The correct tension is suppose to be 18 stitches per 4 inches and I have 16. HOW??? My math mind isn’t comprehending…as I don’t have one. However, I am guessing if I am off by 2 stitches for every 4 inches then….the sweater, which should be 17.77 inches wide in the front is now 20 inches wide in the front…and if I do the back the same, then her sweater will be roughly 5 inches to wide. 😦

I don’t know how this happened, maybe the weight of a larger piece made the gauge off, compared to a small swatch? Wah….I will start the back tonight with the correct tension and then rip out the front this weekend.

Tony stole my crochet hook…okay, well I left it in the car and he has been driving around with it…so I can’t finish the crocheted pullover I am working on either…

note to self: Must finish projects!!

One comment

  1. Ack! It looks like a bulky sweater anyway…could you maybe knit the back not as wide, and then the side seams will just sit back further? Or will that screw up the arms?



Leave a Reply

