h1

Icky Yarn – Be Gone!

November 4, 2005

Here is the icky yarn that I bought off of ebay for $5.50. It is wool. From the picture, it looks harmless, but upon closer inspection there are hole and stained spots on it. Only one ball of yarn didn’t have a hole in it. I wish I would have noticed them before I gave the lady feedback.

So, I unwound the yarn into skeins and soakedand washed it.

Then, I dyed it with food coloring and Kool-Aid. However, I ran out of both, so it didn’t dye as well as I wanted it to. It still has a lot of gray in it. However, I do like it better then the icky gray and atleast feel that it is a little bit “cleaner” then it was. This is the first time I dyed over another color. This is a sock weight yarn. It will be interesting to see what the yarn looks like when it is rolled into a ball. Also, when I knit it up into…what else? Socks.

Oh, and it looks kind of scraggly because I had to roll it into several small skeins, since there were several places there were holes in the balls of yarn. I am just trying my best to save what I probably shouldn’t have bought to begin with.

3 comments

  1. The yarn’s looking good! I can’t wait to see how it knits up!!


  2. I just read about dyeing gray wool and would like to try it. It looks good to me. What do you mean “holes” in the yarn-like moth holes???? More than likely if you didn’t see it till you wound it, the seller didn’t know about it either.


  3. What a great idea! Bummer when you get something in the mail that you think you are getting a good deal on and it turns out otherwise. Anyway, you did good on the fix.



Leave a Reply

