h1

Snickerdoodles

December 8, 2005

Snickerdoodle Recipe

Dry Ingredients:
3 1/2 cups of Flour
1 tbsp Baking Powder
2 tsp Baking Soda
2 tsp Cream of Tartar
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Mix all dry ingredients together.

In another bowl, mix the following ingredients:
1 cup of Butter
1 cup of Sugar
1 cup of Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
2 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

When the butter/sugar mixture is well mixed, add the dry mix to it slowly until it is all mixed together. At this point, you can either chill it in the fridge for a bit or go ahead and make the cookies, depending on how hard/soft your dough is.

To make the cookies, scoop a spoonfull (walnut sized) and roll it into Cinammon/Sugar mixture. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes (oven times may vary.) You want the cookies to med/light brown and crack on the top and also look cooked, not doughy. I take them out when the cookies no longer look doughy and before they burn (ha ha…)

Cinnamon Sugar Mixture:
3 tbsp Sugar
1/2 tsp Cinnamon

Cookies will be crispy on the outside and chewy in the inside. ps…I know that Cream of Tartar and Baking Soda is the same as using Baking powder…but this recipe just gives me the best results, so I do it this way.

This is my own recipe….I had to create it because my husband loves snickerdoodle cookies and over the years I have been with him, have developed this version of the many snickerdoodle recipes out there. My husband claims this is the best cookie in the whole world. 🙂

2 comments

  1. These are my favorite cookies!! They remind me of being a kid!
    ~ DAWN


  2. I’ve been wanting to try these cookies since you posted the recipe and it’s now Christmas Eve and I finally got around to it. All we can say is Oh My Goodness these are excellent cookies. We’re hooked. Thanks for posting the recipe!



Leave a Reply

