h1

2005 Year in Review

December 31, 2005

Here is a list of all of the COMPLETED projects I did in 2005. (note the word completed…there are some not-so-completed items stashed away…)

  • 1 Crafted Diaper Cake
  • 1 SewnFleece “tag” baby blanket
  • 3 Crocheted Baby Blankets
  • 6 Crocheted Hats
  • 19 Crocheted Scarves
  • 1 Crocheted Bag
  • 1 Crocheted Shawl
  • 10 Crocheted Halter/Tank Tops
  • 5 Crocheted Kerchiefs
  • 1 Crocheted Headband
  • 1 Crocheted Baby Cardigan
  • 2 Crocheted Ponchos
  • 1 Crocheted Hook Case
  • 1 Crocheted Candy Corn
  • 3 Crocheted Pumpkin
  • 1 Knit Pumpkin
  • 1 Crocheted Children’s Dress
  • 1 Crocheted Stuffed Animal (triceretops)
  • 1 Crocheted Flower Shirt/Top w/ matching Granny Square Bag
  • 1 Knit/Crochet Bag
  • 1 Knit Toddler Tank Top
  • 1 Toddler Crocheted Pullover
  • 5 Knit Soakers
  • 1 Knit Children’s Pullover
  • 1 Knit/Felted Bag
  • 3 Knit Hats
  • 1 Knit Toddler Mittens
  • 7 Crocheted Dishclothes
  • 1 Crocheted Dishtowel
  • 1 Knit Cable Scarf (Irish Hiking Scarf)
  • 1 Knit Headband (Panta)
  • 1 Crocheted Snowman
  • 3 Crocheted Snowflakes
  • 1 Knit Clapotis (scarf/shawl)
  • 1 Knit Toddler Pants
  • 1 Knit Pair of Socks
  • 2 Painted Game Back Boards

This is in no particular order and is not my complete list as I only took the stuff that I put up on my blog and I know that I periodically leave stuff off for whatever reason.

oh…and just recently learned how to spin with a drop spindle….though I suck! In fact, the bottom whorl spindle spun down to the ground, hit the ground and the whorl broke off….5 minutes after opening the mail package. Luckily, being that I am crafty, I had wood glue and have glued it back on. Again, lucky…I bought 2 spindles off of ebay, as I didn’t know what I would like/need better so bought this kit with 2 spindles and roving from this lady.

She has nice spindles. However, now that I see what a spindle is and how it works (I am a hands on learner,) I think I can make my own spindles. You never know when this craft woman decides to create something with wood…

Oh, so here is a picture of the “yarn” that I spun with my spindle. Yes, it is “novelty” thick and thin and very slubby yarn. I am too much of a KLUTZ to try and spin the spindle and draft the roving at the same time. So I spin and then stop it between my legs. Then, I draft until it is out of spin. Then, I spin it some more, stop it, draft…etc. It seems to work though. It is better than the first 20 minutes when I tried the spin/draft at same time method and the spindle kept wanting to spin in the wrong direction or stop and then the roving would break and the spindle would fall to the ground….Yeah, that wasn’t so good.

I do get the whole idea of drafting and now am really wanting a spinning wheel.

ps…I bought some BFL Roving on Ebay (1 pound) I read that it is good for beginners to spin with.

So…to end this post and if I don’t post tomorrow…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!! 2006

5 comments

  1. Wow! That’s alotta stuff! You sure have been busy! Go job, Wendy! Isn’t it great to be able to spend so much time doing something you love?

    Good luck with the spinning. I hope is gets easier with practice. πŸ™‚


  2. How did you ever keep track??? I would never be able to, there is stuff I never posted, etc.

    I hope you have a wonderful New Year!


  3. Happy New Year! =) Sending you energy that you accomplish all your goals, your yarn basket stay full, and all your WIP’s turn into FO’s =)

    Ditto what Deneen said lol. Maybe I should set a goal to keep track this year, I bet it feels good to see a nice long list of FO’s!


  4. I didn’t “keep track.” I spent almost an hour going through my blog month by month tabulating what I have done over the past year. It was kind of nice to see all of the things that I have done and also gave me this appreciation for myself that I don’t always give.

    Half of the scarves that I made were donated to raise money for some type of charity. The other half were given as gifts.

    I made a lot of projects for my kids, baby shower gifts, Christmas gifts.

    I have realized in looking back I haven’t made much for myself. 3 items really. I might have to make a few more things for me, just because.

    Thank you all for your comments. πŸ™‚


  5. Wow! You have been one busy mama!!! The spinning sounds like fun. πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

