h1

Knitting Question

January 15, 2006

I am working on a pattern in the Magazine Rebecca, don’t have time to add the link, sorry. It is a 2×2 ribbed pullover and I am knitting the sleeves…so here is my question.

The pattern goes P1, K2xP2…, K1. Every 6 Rows, increase 1 stitch on each end. This is where I need help. I am not very experienced and am doing the trial/error method of trying to increase and it isn’t going very well. I am not sure if I should be doing purl increasing or knit increasing, if I should keep the end stitches constant, like always do P1 on one end and K1 on the other and am pretty much guessing that the Make 1 left and Make 1 right are the increases I should be using.

If there is a smart knitter reading my blog, will you please leave a gentle comment guiding me with the best (in your opinion) increase to use and if I should be trying to mimic the 2×2 pattern buy increasing accordingly (if this makes sense…in my mind it does) and if I should be starting with P1 and ending with K1 every time (for some reason I changed it a few times because of the increasing.)

If I was increasing something that was just straight knitting or purling I would be fine, it appears to be the 2×2 ribbing that is messing me up. Thanks for putting up with my confusion.

ps…I am sick, Tony is sick, and Madeleine is sick…lucky us, Sierra is feeling better. πŸ™‚ I promise I will try to post some picture tomorrow, even I am bored with my blog. Sorry.

2 comments

  1. I don’t know nuthin’ bout knittin’, but I hope your feeling better soon!


  2. It sounds like you are knitting flat, and so any increases on the end stitches will be hidden in the seam. It shouldn’t matter which increase you use, just pick the easiest one for you. πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

