h1

Yarn Found

January 18, 2006

I drove and called all over my area (as well as other areas near relatives) and nobody had the yarn I was looking for. I did google searches and posted on bulletin boards and finally, emailed the ebayer that sold me the yarn. I came to this realization this color must be discontinued as nobody had it stocked. Then, the ebayer emailed me and told me she had more of this yarn…Yay!! Of course, I only need 1 ball and I knew I would be paying a lot with shipping and all, so of course bought some more yarn from her, to make the shipping cost not so bad. I bought Berroco Cotton Twist. I am way over my yarn budget this month. However, I have some thing I need to list on ebay…cloth diapers, photography paper, video cable, cell phone cameras…

Yesterday, I got this Thick envelope in the mail from the….du..du…du…dum….IRS. (WTF!!!) I ripped open the envelope and started skimming and noticed the IRS was telling us they think we owe them $4,000 from 2004 taxes. Tony keeps pulling the paper out of my hands. I finally grab everything, run in the house and tell him I need 30 minutes of silence to figure out what in the world is going on.

I finally get to the part where they think we have made $21,000 more in 2004 than what we reported. (Um…hello? If we made $20K more, don’t you think I would have noticed that?)

Theory #1 in my head was that this was Tony’s dad’s income as they have the same name and we have had some credit problems because of this. I call up the IRS and get all the info on how to appeal this, etc. However, decide it would be better to actually talk to a person to find out where they got that number. I do get a real person, without really waiting that long (about 5 minutes) and find this out:

In October/November the IRS starts building cases against people. I guess they look over everyone’s tax returns and check to see if you did them right. In December, Tony’s empoyer sent the 2004 W-2 and another W-2 (we are suspecting from the previous year) and it looked like we had made twice as much money. Then, Tony’s employer sent in a corrected W-2 for 2004.

So, the IRS did have the corrected W-2 and they are closing the case and everything is okay, we do NOT owe $4,000. I did get his name and ID # and if I don’t get a letter in about 6 weeks I am going to be calling again.

You would think Tony’s work would warn us…”hey, by the way, we screwed up on your W-2’s so expect a big thick envelope from the IRS….” Talk about HEART FAILURE! We are much more relaxed now, but I will admit Tony and I both had a moment of panic.

Everyone is feeling better, finally. Madeleine ended up having an ear infection, but you can’t really tell.

I got an 84% on my Quiz in my Microbiology class. It was on Chemistry. That isn’t bad, but I could have done better. Two of the problems said to choose 2 and I only chose 1 because I didn’t spend enough time reading the question, I didn’t read choose 2. There were also a few of the questions I overthought. I hate that! This quiz is actually a small percentage of my grade. I want A’s. I have a quiz tomorrow on vocabulary words. I will be studying that tonight.

I need to make myself some wrist/fingerless mitts as my hands/wrists have been getting cold at school. I have the yarn to finish my “dream” idea, might work with that tonight (between studying.)

I am considering taking a Yoga for Back Care Class. It costs $69 and is one day a week for 10 weeks. I think it will be worth it, though… (We won’t talk about my gym membership I have had for 6 months and only gone twice. )

I did try and cook a healthy dinner tonight. Chicken, grilled in a pan w/ a small bit of bbq sauce, broccoli mix, and brown rice. Thanks for all of your comments on my food rant. I actually don’t cook with box mixes, but I know a lot of people who do. I have been aware of transfatty acids for a long time and also the dangers of eating too much high fructose corn syrup.

btw – has anyone else tried those Aussie Bites, that you can buy at Costco? They are made with oatmeal, honey, sunflower seeds, and other natural stuff. Yum!

Friday will be a big mailing day for me. I need to mail out my Wool package. I am also going to be mailing out my blog contest prizes and I am putting together some “just because” packages…I also am going to be mailing out a lot of thank you cards!

2 comments

  1. Glad to hear things are smoothed over with the IRS. Anyways, This is CrochetKel and I got your post on my blog. I am class of 96 at Spanaway Lake High School. Maybe your hubby attend in that time. Let me know.


  2. Yay for yarn, getting the IRS off your back, and having a healthy family again!!! šŸ˜€



Leave a Reply

