h1

Ponderings

February 14, 2006

1. Dear Interweave Knits – will you please add some additional sizes to this pattern, Waterlily Top? My bust is bigger than 42 inches and I am too stupid to figure out how to make a larger size. Thanks! ps…the yarn you chose is mucho expensive, at $25 a skein a large tank will cost a whopping $100. I really like this top and it looks like a relatively easy knit. (bet it will be fab in cotton-ease)

2. Dear publisher of Essentials of Human Anatomy and Physiology by Elaine N. Marieb, on page viii of the text under, “Preface to the Student,” it says, “Important terms are defined within the text as they are introduced and are listed at the ends of the chapters. An extensive glossary is provided at the back of the book to help you review these terms.” Please explain to me why you have left out Schwann Cells and Oligodendrocytes from the glossary. These are bolded terms, were these terms not good enough for your glossary or is my book just missing the “Holy Hell” section, such as where in the “holy hell” is this word?

Also from the book, “the informal writing style invites you to learn more about anatomy and physiology without intimidation.” I am gathering that if the book wasn’t so informal, I wouldn’t need to look these terms up in the glossary as they would be clearly defined in the text, instead of informally talked about. I am hating how this book is written. What ever happened to getting to the point of things and not sugar coating it? If it is too wordy, it is too confusing.

3. “Tony, please stop trying to use my brain. I am sorry that your brain cannot compile the grocery list, but my brain is busy right now. Thanks!” Yes, those words did come out of my mouth tonight after his umpteenth phone call of annoyance. I am unsure why someone who apparantly has to tell me how to drive has to call and ask the “dumb person” if one gallon of milk will be enough for the rest of the week.

4. Isn’t this bracelet pretty? It is magnetic, so even my wide wrist can wear it. It wraps around and the hematite magnets hold it in place. Oddly enough a friend of mine posted about these on her blog a week ago and I ran into a selection of them in a little store on my trip this weekend. I priced out how much it would cost to make them and decided my $15 seemed well spent.

5. Stitches West – It is this weekend and I am thinking about going. Whoa….hide the credit cards! I told Tony I think I should be majoring in yarn as I had the Interweave Knits Spring 06 tucked in my anatomy book for quick glances between anatomy subjects and I kept wondering to myself….

self…have you done enough reading? I want to go play with yarn….nope, not yet…just a few more paragraphs….er..er…er…I mean pages….er…er…er….I mean chapters. Get back to work so you can get good grades and then get a good job so you can buy more pretty yarn and have plenty of days off to use it.

6 comments

  1. Ponderings:
    1. I love that Waterlily top too. 🙂
    2. I received one of those bracelets for Christmas. 🙂
    3. How much milk a family needs for the rest of the week is totally intuitive…I never guess right. 😉


  2. Wait, you actually read the “preface to the student”?? LOL

    I’m sorry about the milk, but look on the bright side, at least *you* didn’t have to make the trip to the grocery store. 🙂

    Very pretty bracelet.

    Good luck with the reading.


  3. I can’t see the bracelet, must be something with my system…
    I’ll be at Stitchers West on Sunday, maybe we’ll cross paths! 🙂


  4. If I don’t make the grocery list, Mike comes back with bags full of things we don’t need and seemes to forget all the things we did need.


  5. Hey Wendy, I’ll probably be at Stitches on Saturday. There’s a dinner-a-long planned for Saturday night, I believe – not sure if I will be able to stay late for that though. Might try and get a lunch-a-long going…


  6. I will see you at Stitches West! 🙂

    Beautiful bracelet! What a nice find. 🙂



Leave a Reply

