h1

Stitches West

February 19, 2006

Today, I woke up late and Tony asked me if I was going to go. He said he would drive me, so we all piled in the car and got there around 1pm. Yarn, yarn everywhere! I have never seen that much yarn ever. It costed us $12 to get in, the kids were free. I didn’t go to any classes as really I just had one little purpose of being there that I haven’t shared with anyone (well, except Tony.)

I stopped by and said hi to Annelle, who remembered me and my family. She gave me a coupon for her shop, which expires in June, so I will be able to visit her shop, Mendocino Yarn Shop before then.

I admit it, I fondled a lot of fiber! Also, I know you won’t believe this, but I won one of the door prizes. I told you I have been a winner lately. Don’t hate me. I won a skein of Socks that Rock and a sock pattern. They were out of most of their colors, but I did find an earthy color that I think I will like. I bought a 550 yard hank of merino wool yarn from Interlacements. It was on sale there and was such a deal.

So, I am on cloud nine, but the real reason has to do with the box and all of the roving on top of the box. Do you see the box. I like the box. The box makes me very, very happy. Do you know what is in the box? Sorry I am a braggart.

I have a huge test either tonight or tomorrow. (My online anatomy class….) How can I study when I got the box? ps…all of that roving was thrown in with my box. I cannot wait!

I had such a good time today. Did you go? If you did, did you see me in my bright pink sleeveless shirt and black pants and my 2 kids and hubby in tow? I think I was the only one there with kids. I tried looking for people, but everyone kept smiling at me and I kept thinking, do they “know” me or is everyone just really happy around all of this yarn? I think they were smiling at the kids.

My reason behind going to Stitches West was to try out a spinning wheel. I am so much better at a spinning wheel than a drop spindle. It was so easy for me. (Will I be eating these words later?)

Well, I have to go study. Tony is going to put the Lendrum together and then hopefully I will get to play with it tonight.

4 comments

  1. I’m glad you had a good time. πŸ™‚


  2. Very glad you enjoyed yourself, how did you get the family to agree to go? My hubby would rather have needles shoved in his eyes than follow me around any craft event. =)


  3. Lucky you! We never made it out of town. 😦
    I bet it is a spinning wheel in that box!!! I love roving…it is so soft and fluffy. πŸ™‚
    I agree with Kelly. That will be the day when Kevin comes with me to an event like Stitches West. lol


  4. I was there on Sunday but left by 1pm. You got some beautiful yarn, there. πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

