h1

Off Day

March 29, 2006

My test didn’t go so well. Tell me, why does a professor let you look at past test. Then, when he tests you, he makes this test all tricky. I hate deciphering trick questions. What ever happened to just asking a straightforward question to get a straightforward answer? UGH…

There was a written part (which I hate) it asked about a baby that came into the hospital with suspected meningitis. People around me kept being rude and it was distracting me. Somehow my thinking got off and I answered the question talking about tuberculosis. Hello? How freaking stupid is that? Double UGH…

I go into lab class and am staining my specimen and my lab partner is about 7 minutes slower than me. This annoyed me so I partnered up with another lady at my table. Our table had 6 people at it when it should have only had 4. It was crowded and as I was tired.

My lab partner (not the lady that was working with me) kept asking me, “What do I do next?” “How long do I put this stain on?” Etc…this was right after we watched the teacher do it.

Then, the lady that was working with me looked over at the burner, which my arm was IN….warmth…heat….hot…aw…yep, I was on fire. Not bad though. Actually, I exaggerated. I only singed my arm hairs and it was a small row and not all the way to the skin. In fact, I didn’t get burned at all. I didn’t want to draw attention to myself, I ran my arm under the sink and washed off the curly q’s. I thanked the woman for saving me from being lit on fire. I finished my lab.

I was one of the 3 people in class that actually did the stain correctly and I had the “pink rods.” yay…me.

Things seemed okay at home, until I tripped in my living room. The back door was open at a 45 degree angle. I was holding Madeleine as she really wanted to use the bathroom and the back door is perpendicular to the bathroom. The back door has hanging blinds. The bottom of the blind caught me and stabbed into me. I fell on it with all of my weight (which is a lot.) If that blind had any type of point to it, it would have stabbed me right in the liver. Instead it was just a blunt trauma and gave me a nice bruise. Madeleine is fine. The blind didn’t bend or break, it seems I got the worst of it. UGH.

I decided to kettle dye some yarn as I saw a conversation on the wooly wonder forum. The sock yarn turned out “okay.” It was lighter than I wanted and I realized that I shouldn’t have “stirred the pot” as much as I did. Next time I will know to just let it sit in there. I decided to overdye some other sock yarn I had and I think I felted it, so maybe the pot was too hot? I decided to try my hand at dyeing roving in the kettle and half felted it. I don’t know if it is salvageable. It didn’t dye all the way through, either. UGH.

I have decided with the day that I have had that I am not going to try to knit or crochet anything. I still look back at today and think of how 2 times (fire and blind in belly) that if it was just a little bit more to the right (my arm) or a little bit more in me (the blind) I could have ended up at the ER today.

Maybe the stress of school is getting to me? I would like to help out at Sierra’s school tomorrow, but something tells me it is going to be a mental health day. 🙂

7 comments

  1. Hope you have a much better day today and get some down time.


  2. Ick! I hate days like that! I’m crossing my fingers you have a better day today!


  3. 😦 I hope today is better for you.


  4. Sometimes you just have to give in to the fact that you’re having a bad day and sit and relax if possible. Tomorrow will be better. Hope you’re feeling better. Hugs for you. 🙂


  5. *hugs*


  6. Now, that’s a bad day. 😦 I hope the rest of your week is a lot better!!!


  7. I’m sorry about your bad day! I hope today is better. 🙂



Leave a Reply

