h1

Micro – revisited

March 30, 2006

Well, I got a 89% on the last exam. That doesn’t bring my grade up to an A, still hanging at a B+. I missed some stupid ones, like always.

We just covered vaccinations in class and now are covering diseases. If you need to know anything about vaccinations, ask me. 🙂 I would be happy to share my knowledge. One disease you might want to consider thinking about, if you do not vaccinate is Congenital Rubella Syndrome. We saw pictures of babies that were born with this disease. It was sad. It is a disease that affects newborns whose mom was not ever exposed to the disease until she is pregnant.

I was also amazed by the charts on how vaccinations have brought diseases down from the 1960’s to current. We are very lucky to live in a country that has developed and implemented these programs. A lady next to me in class is from Africa. She has told stories of her people in Africa and the diseases she has seen, first hand and the crippling side effects of the diseases.

Two other things I need to comment on as I have read other blogs and other online communities.

1. Rape is not okay, no matter what your profession is, no matter what you are wearing, no matter if you are intoxicated or whatever. If you are a stripper at a night club or at a party, you do not deserve to be raped. Being in these types of professions and environments will increase the risk of being raped, but that does not mean it is deserved. I hate that mentality.

2. Faking your own death in an online community is just dumb. Don’t do it. Don’t go there. I feel bad for all of the people that have recently lost a loved one who thought they were losing an online friend. I was in chat room with the “deceased” last night and it was incredible all of the lies and bs she was saying. I don’t know if she did this to get out of swaps or to get people to send her $$ or what. Man, if you join swaps and find out you can’t do them, just say so.

It isn’t the first time I ran across this online. I am surprised she didn’t come back and say her kid broke into her account why she was away and concocted the whole story…heard that one before years ago on a birth board.

I do have another (big) test next week…it is never ending, huh? I have 3 more weeks and then finals. WOW…putting that in writing makes it so real. I am going to do something craft tonight…stay tuned. 😉

10 comments

  1. There may be more to it than that:
    http://www.vaccinationnews.com/dailynews/November2002/Vax&Disease7.htm


  2. It’s funny you should mention rubella. When I was pregnant with Aidan my Rubella screening came back negative for immunity. I was shocked, but I learned that the vaccine wears off over time, sometimes as soon as 15 years. Thankfully, Rubella is no longer endemic in the U.S. and in 2004 there weren’t any cases of CRS. And, the majority of the cases prior to that were in the infants of women born in Latin countries.

    My dr. put an order in my hospital chart for the Rubella shot, and when the nurse came to give it to me, and I refused, she made me read and sign a handout on the risks to any of my future unborn children. But, there was no mention that the live virus is passed into breastmilk in amounts large enough to effect the nursing newborn.

    If I do decide to have another child, I’m not going to worry about contracting Rubella since the risk is negligible. As for my daughter, by the time she decides to have a child, Rubella will have been eliminated from the planet, along with Polio, and many other common childhood illness. Yippee!

    Also, while I totally sympathize with your African classmate and can’t imagine what she’s seen, I’m sure she will be the first to admit that the reason these illnesses are so devastating in Africa is due to malnutrition, unsanitary conditions, and unclean water, not to mention AIDS. It’s very sad and tragic.

    Oh, and please don’t take this the wrong way, but most families that choose to not vaccinate, don’t do so lightly and only after much research. I’ve personally spent years researching the issue and different vaccines and still do so on a regular basis as new evidence or vaccines come to light. The difficult choices we make for our families are never easy. 🙂


  3. A college text is part of researching. You are welcome to look through it. 🙂

    Patti, those charts on that site are death rates, not disease rates and the disfiguring problems and other health illnesses and problems associated with getting a disease such as Congenital rubella syndrome. Also, I wonder about the citation to the swedish research as that dates back to the 1980’s. ??

    Cynthia,
    I was thinking about what you said and it is true that vaccinations like Rubella sometimes do not have lifelong protection. It is the childbearing women who need to be protected, though and I wonder if you would have tested positive 10 or 20 years ago.

    What type of Rubella shot were they trying to give you? like a booster to the vaccine? I would have refused too. I have read that there is a chance the virus could spread to the fetus if you are immunized when pregnant, also they caution even immunizing young children whose mother’s are pregnant. (which I wonder how many peds ask that question.)

    Also, that was my point about the US, hopefully by the time our children are our age most of these diseases will be eliminated and there will no longer be the need for some of these diseases.


  4. That woman who was raped in Durham? A mother of two and a student at a local university. I don’t really know anything about her, but I imagine this was a way to put food on the table, given that being a student and parent doesn’t leave a lot of hours left for working… and stuff like exotic dancing pays well from what I hear.

    Man, someone faked their death? How stupid! 😛

    As to vaccines, people who choose not to vaccinate are relying on the rest of the population to do so, and I hope they realize that. Rubella does crop up in the US and Canada… every few years at university I hear about a local case, and how they warn women who may become pregnant. If I have children, they will receive all recommended vaccinations.


  5. Addendum: I tested positive for immunity when I was pregnant with Alex.

    The hospital wanted to give me an MMR booster. I still laugh when I remember the nurse’s expression when I refused. It isn’t as if I planned to get pregnant in the next week or so (or ever again, for that matter). And, personally, I don’t consider my vaccine status any business of theirs. Public health policy – got to love it.

    Yes, most of these diseases will be eliminated by the time our children are adults. Thankfully, many are already gone from North America. Unfortunately, it seems as if there is always another disease waiting to take it’s place.

    I’m encouraged by new research into alternate ways to kill viruses and other diseases that may someday provide an option to vaccines. I think it’s dangerous when scientists don’t want to admit there’s a problem with a treatment method. It slows down the development of better solutions and breeds distrust of those who claim to have our best interests at heart. When too many people profit from the status quo, research and invention suffer. It’s time for a multi-disciplinary approach to preventing and fighting common diseases.


  6. I saw that and was wondering the same, now I wonder if her grandpa was even sick? I don’t care if she didn’t want to send me a tote, she could have just said. That is just weird. You have to wonder what her mental status is, huh?
    When my daughter was 15, she was raped by a 29 year old man with 3 children and it was brought out in court that she was drinking and high. So, he got a lesser charge and was out in 15 months. Funny thing, he was the one that supplied all the paraphenalia and that was not even a charge and they would only reimburse a portion of the exams and medical due to drugs and alcohol. She has had problems with men ever since, she is now 21.


  7. There’s a difference between an innocent rape victim and a woman who makes herself a sex object and purposefully puts herself in dangerous situations. That remains my opinion. But thanks for the linkage.


  8. I suppose if the woman who was violated were a welfare mom would make everyone happier…but I think not, surely the self-rightous will find fault in that.

    Enticement is in the eye of the beholder…a smile might be an enticement to one and not to another…..if we allowed criminal behavior due to our wants, as the poster of this topics seems to think is okay, then can you imagine the world we would live in?

    Men cant be held accountable for their action because the woman apparently had no morals to begin with….who hired her in the first place!!! GEEEEZ!


  9. I don’t care if the woman who was raped, actually consented to sex with someone minutes before she chose to say “no.” I dont’ care if she wore a shirt that says, “i’m easy”… I don’t care what precarious position she put herself in. She said “no” and that’s enough.


  10. I saw that other blog you are refering to and have to say that I’m gobsmacked that a woman would write something like that about a fellow female. Incredible! I have to agree with Noricum.

    Faking death? Wow! Someone has some serious issues. *shudder*

    Good luck in your class. Anything to do with biology or physiology or medicine just goes in one of my ears and out the other. I admire people that can remember all the terms and vocabulary. 🙂



Leave a Reply

