h1

Happy Birthday to me!

May 2, 2006

Today was a great day. Thank you for all of your birthday wishes. I wore my birthday tie-dye, which is a bright tank top that I wear every year on my birthday. Tony made me an awesome dinner and a cake. Look at this cake! This is the first time he ever baked a cake.

Sierra helped with some of the decorations. I don’t know about you, but my first cake looked nothing like this. This is the first time in the 8 years that we have been together that he baked me a birthday cake. He really made today a special day for me.

I finished crocheting a bag. This time I got the straps on in the right spot. I really like the shape of this bag. 

Here it is fulled. I couldn’t get it to felt anymore and the strap is a little too long. I will try to felt it one more time. I made this for a friend, so am hoping that if she doesn’t like the strap she can cut it and then sew it back on so it is a good length for her. It is a belated baby gift and I thought would be a nice diaper bag…or in her case…carry her yarn and some diapers bag. Either way, I hope she likes it. It is from the yarn Deneen sent me and was dyed with easter egg dye. I noticed in the felting process the colors became lighter. This is the first time I have had that happen, but most of my dyeing has been with Kool-Aid, not food coloring. I still like the results.

12 comments

  1. Happy Birthday, Wendy! Glad you had a good day. That’s an awesome looking cake.


  2. Happy Birthday! So glad you had nice day. I cannot believe that cake.. I first thought is was a store bought one. Way to go, Tony.
    I also really like those color on that bag.


  3. Happy Birthday, Wendy!


  4. Happy Birthday! Great cake and bag. 🙂


  5. Happy Birthday Wendy! (At first, I got scared, thinking that I forgot that it might be my birthday today, but then I realized that no, it isn’t my month and thank God, I’m not 43…YET!)

    Hope you had a great one!


  6. Great cake! I’m impressed =) Mine doesn’t bake, he burns *g* he’d never even consider baking me a cake, you’re one lucky lady! Glad your day was great! {{Hugs}}


  7. Cake looks terrific. Love the bag!


  8. Happy Birthday! That’s a yummy looking cake.


  9. Happy Birthday!


  10. Happy Belated Birthday, Wendy!


  11. Happy Birthday!!! What an awesome cake – it is moments like these that convince us to keep ’em after all. 😉
    Beautiful bag – I need your secret for being able to get knitting done with two around!


  12. Happy -belated- Birthday Wendy!
    Feliz Cumpleaños!!!
    Love the cake!



Leave a Reply

