h1

Rewind me into a ball of yarn.

July 19, 2006

As I was looking for a past blog link I realized my blog has a problem, UGH!  As I was deleting my old blog I didn’t realize that I was deleting pictures, too and so now all of my archived posts show no pictures.  There are a few ways I can go about fixing this and unfortunately will not be able to go back and undelete those blog posts.  This is going to take me hours to fix just really upsets me.

I received an awesome gift awhile ago from Cordelia and I am still in awe of it all.  She made me a crocheted copper stone bracelet, it is gorgeous.  I wore the bracelet this weekend when I went to visit my sister who is leaving for Texas.  She also sent me materials to make a similar bracelet (as well as a ball of cool crochet yarn, some tea, and a candy corn candle that smells awesome) so I am going to make one and mail it out to my sister.  I have never crocheted jewelry before and so am excited about it.

I am sad that my sister is leaving for Texas.  I am happy for her, too though.  Man I am going to miss her.  She gave me a plant that was in her yard.  It is huge.  It lived in the shade.  It is now in my yard, full on sun, 108 degrees.  Yesterday it was 10% dead.  Today it is 50% dead.  I don’t have any shade in my yard so I don’t see how I can save it.  It is sad.  The other two plants she gave me are doing okay (aloe and spider plant.)

By the way, we are getting some HOT and weird weather.  The hot is expected.  Triple digits is not uncommon for August in the valley in California.  However, it rained tonight.  That is just downright strange.  It is also 50% humidity right now.   We usually have a dry heat here, not humid, so it is weird.
I finished another pair of socks.  This is really a finished UFO/WIP.  It was the second of a jaywalker sock I finished several months ago.   I had thought the sock was too big, because it sagged in the arch.  Inexperience told me that.  Well, in reality, the sock was too small.  So as my toes stretched the sock lenghtwise the sock sagged in the middle.  I am in awe of people who knit these perfect fitting socks.  Mine always seem to have something about them.

The green pair of jaywalkers I knitted awhile back, the cuff was too tight but the sock part too small. Today I said, “screw it!” and I wound the socks back up into a ball.  I have realized that most of my unfinished projects are because I had a problem and so I stopped and picked up something that was problemless.

I had always hoped I would go back to it and fix the problem and finish.  Some things, yes I will.  However, no sense trying to make something work when I can spend less effort and have more fun just winding it all back into a ball and making them into something else.  Apparantly those were not suppose to be green jaywalkers.  I think they were suppose to be happy knitted socks and so they shall…in my own time.

Like my husband said, “atleast with yarn you can just wind it back into a ball and make something else you just can’t do that with painting.”  I wish you could do that with a lot of things.

For instance, say you wake up in the morning and are just having a bad day.  Nothing is going right, kids crabby, smash your hand in the door, lock your keys in the car while the ice cream is melting on the seat, just a bad day (nobody likes wasted ice cream.)  Wouldn’t it be nice if you could just wind that day right back into a new ball and start it over again, but different?  That my friends is the joy of yarn.

So what about the jaywalker that was too small?  I pulled out the weaved in end and added about an inch more stitches.  I have washed them and blocked them and tomorrow I will try them on and take a picture.

I did start a new project, a scarf in the alpaca that was given to me in a swap last winter.  It is a 2×2 twisted rib.  However, I have a question.  I casted on 28 stitches, so I start with knit and end with purl.  Would it have been better for me to cast on 30 so that I start with k2 and end with k2?  So it is more symetrical looking?  Or is k2 ending with p2 okay for a scarf?  Give me your opinion.

Finally, I received a ball of Opal yarn from April.  She doesn’t like the colors brown and blue and apparantly had sock yarn in those colors.  My favorite colors are brown and blue.  I actually love the color brown and wish I had more brown in my wardrobe, that is actually a hard color to find.  I cannot wait to use this yarn, but they will be for me and I owe my mom socks first.

3 comments

  1. Back when I was beta testing computer RPG’s for game companies I had oft times remarked how nice it would be if when you messed up IN REAL LIFE you could just hit the reset button and start over at ytour last saved placed.


  2. I love the idea of rewinding a bad day into another ball of yarn! Hope your day is a good one.


  3. I am all for rewinding a day here and there. I hope your sister’s plant makes it, it always makes me sad when I lose a plant. I am weird like that I guess. Anyways, have a good day!



Leave a Reply

