h1

Heart Walk

August 3, 2006

A few months ago I almost lost my mother to heart disease. It was such an eye opener as my mom wasn’t overweight. She worked out at curves a couple of times a week. She looked healthy and for the most part ate a pretty healthy diet. My dad always feared he would have a heart attack as his father died pretty young from one. So the past few years he really upped his cardiovascular exercises, lowered his weight and cooked with no cholesterol.

Still, when I tell people about my mom, they can’t hardly believe it. She doesn’t fit the profile. Yet she does. Heart disease runs in her family, it is genetics. Heart disease is the #1 killer for women.

My mom, I love her so much and the thought of losing her is beyond anything that I can comprehend. She is not just my mother, but also my best friend. She is so young and beautiful. She worries now that 1 in 5 people after having a heart attack do not live longer than a year. I have told her that those are the people that go right back to their old lifestyle and do not change. They are people that smoke, have diabetes and do not exercise.

My mom has changed her lifestlyle. She works out at the gym in the morning and then goes on a 3 mile walk/jog in the afternoon. She is quite the role model.

Tony and I have changed our lifestyle as well. I am no longer eating red meat and have tried to cook mostly vegetarian. It is a new adventure for me. Tony has lost 15 pounds and I have lost only 5 but I feel better and that is what is important. I am also working towards being able to run 3 miles. At first my goal was to run 1 mile without stopping, but now it is 3 miles by mid September.

The reason for the change is I am going to participate in the Heart Walk. It is a 3.2 mile walk/run and my goal is to run the whole thing. Please support me in my efforts.

You can help me reach my goal by making a donation online. Click on the link below and you will be taken to my personal donation page where you can make a secure online credit card donation. The American Heart Association’s online fundraising website has a minimum donation amount of $25.00. If you prefer to donate less, you can do so by sending a check directly to me.

Your donation will help fight our nation’s No. 1 and No. 3 killers—heart disease and stroke. You are making a difference. Thank you for your support.

My Personal Heart Walk Webpage

6 comments

  1. Wendy, I am so sorry about your mother. Thank you for making us all aware of the risk we as women have for heart disease.

    What a wonderful why to honor your mother. Good luck on your goals.


  2. Your mother certainly is inspirational and so are you. It’s amazing how profoundly exercise affects our well-being. Now if only it didn’t make me sweat. 🙂


  3. Heart disease is an insidious beast. I’m glad your mom is doing well now. 🙂


  4. Wendy,
    I don’t know how long you’ve been running/walking in preparation for this, but there is a great website that has a schedule to get ready for a 5K (3.1) miles. It’s called Couch to 5K. Here’s the link: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

    Granted it is a 9-week program, but I ran *most* of my first 5K (which I was a short notice deal — the story’s on my blog), before I was finished with the program.

    You can do it!! Best of luck!!

    P.S. Sorry if this posts more than once — I think my computer is having issues.


  5. Good for you! Your mom is beautiful


  6. Your mother is a wonderful inspiration – thank God for her! And you, Wendy, are doing a wonderful thing to not only honour her but to raise awareness as well, thank you 😉



Leave a Reply

