h1

Going to school

August 28, 2006

I am going to school tomorrow.  It is going to be a long morning for me.  My class starts at 7:40am.  Wish me luck!

I didn’t get very much completed this weekend.  I am almost done with a sock and I am going to bring it to school with me.  You never know when I might find some knitting time to myself.

Tony and I still working on some things.  I am beginning to wonder if things are “cyclic” as they always show up the day before a test or first day of school or something that is important to me.  Sometimes I feel like I am being sabotaged.

Wish I had something creative and artsy to show you.  Sierra is going good at school. I am not seeing things eye to eye with Sierra’s teacher.  Tony has a vacation in a few weeks and I am going to volunteer in class and observe.  Until then, I will keep my thoughts to myself.

Wish I had something finished to show you.  I am testing a scarf and am to the last section of it.  The pattern part of it goes slower for me then the ribbing.  I think it is an excellent pattern.  I showed it to my mom and she thinks my dad will really like it.  Oh, and she thinks it is “blue” also.

I have decided that since I am going to school again and will be busy with that and my mother’s club that I better not start any new projects any time soon.  So for the month of September I am going to finish all WIP’s.  That is my goal.  Anyone up for a challenge?

4 comments

  1. I don’t doubt there may be problems with the teacher. Just please tread lightly. We teachers hear so few compliments. That being said, you are the primary educator of your child and the teachers way of doing things should not supercede the class’ learining style. Believe me, I’ve met plenty of teachers who are great managers and administrators…but seem to care very little for the actual education part of teaching…even though they would swear up and down they do…


  2. Good luck today!

    Don’t get me started on problem teachers…I’d never shut up. But sometimes there really is just a failure to communicate – you’ll know more once you observe. I used to really despair every time one of the kids got a teacher that was a bad fit for them. Now I’m philosophical. They survived and they also learned how to cope when the classroom was an unfair, hostile place to be. Heck, it started with Dylan when he was in Kinder! (Ok – I got started..now I’m shutting myself up. hehe)

    I have one WIP – very unusual for me – so yes, I’ll join you in finishing it in Sept!


  3. So you are going to school now? I am confused!

    If you are on edge the day before something “big”, anything can trigger the feelings of sabotage you are having, but I do understand how men sometimes know just what buttons to push.

    Sierra’s teacher-deep breaths here. Teachers are human and therefore, our kids are going to have a few we aren’t carzy about. Elena’s Pre-K was like that and I never liked her, but Elena was okay with it and she wasn’t being harmed, etc. I thought they were too hard on the kids discipline-wise and still do about certain things (like if you forget to push your chair in, you get time taken off of your recess), etc. I still think it’s too much, but they claim it’s so they follow the rules as they get older, etc. If Elena is really upset or has a problem with the teacher, I’ll step in, but if their discipline styles, personality styles, etc are different from mine, I let it go.


  4. Good luck with your class!

    I’m sorry to hear about you not seeing eye to eye with Sierra’s teacher. That must be very difficult. 😦 I know that my mother was always in speaking to my teacher and/or the principal when she didn’t like the direction the class was going — and I must say, that I really appreciate that she did that for me! It may not have changed anything, but at least I knew that my mom cared and that she was on my side.



Leave a Reply

