h1

A Ball!

September 24, 2006

My latest finished project is a Crocheted Ball. It is made with Patons Classic Wool. It will be one of my teaching projects at Michaels in November. I felted the ball (these are pictures Before.) It didn’t felt as much as I had thought it would, but now in retrospect I remember that single crochet doesn’t felt as well as hdc and dc. Just my opinion. It is still a really cute ball. I stuffed it with polyfill. I think it would make for some cute ornaments.

Oh, and Madeleine was eyeing my ball tonight, so I hope I can get an After photo, but if not it is because she took it.  As I was taking the Before photo, she was hovering over the ball, ready to pounce on it.  I tried to take a photo of her, but her batteries died, so they are charging.



Yesterday I made a Garterlac Dishcloth. It was a fun pattern, just don’t work on it when you are tired as it is easy to confuse yourself.

As part of my September challenge to not start new projects , I am pretty much finished with Anouk. I just need to buy buttons and sew them on. I know the ball and dishcloth are new projects, but the dishcloth is part of the KAL at Fiber Freaks. Fiber Freaks, by the way is doing really well. We have almost 90 members, are averaging 100 posts a day, and have active CAL’s and KAL’s. Tomorrow I am going to finish Anouk completely and start on my second Angelica sleeve. It is about time I finished that!

Oh, and I did the wrong decrease throughout Anouk. Atleast I was consistent, though. I was doing a SKP instead of a SSK. I know the difference, and hey…I never said I was perfect. Atleast it is slanting the correct direction. Also, the person who will be getting this won’t know the difference. I will post a picture when I get the buttons sewn on.

Okay…some non-crafty stuff…

Tony and I gave blood today. The lady poked me real hard and it hurt real bad the whole time. Squeezing the ball was difficult to do. I couldn’t straighten my arm afterwards and 12 hours later that still hurts. I have never experienced this much pain associated with a blood draw. I wonder if she somehow hit a nerve or something. I am sure tomorrow I will be better. All I know is don’t mess with a knitter’s/crocheter’s arm! Tony warned me I should have had them do my left arm. It was all for a good cause, though. They called twice this morning and really were in need of blood.

We also didn’t eat too healthy the past two days and I am telling you we both can “feel” it. Tony was craving a hamburger and bought us In and Out and after eating it we just about died. We felt so run down and gross and ick. Tonight the kids drank apple juice and it made them bounce off the walls and get really upset, etc. They aren’t use to all of the sugar. I am looking forward to buying some fruit and veggies tomorrow and planning out next week’s meals.

Spam me a recipe if you have one that is mostly veggie related!

Thanks everyone who posted a commented about me dropping that class. You are all right. I need to give myself a break. It is okay to admit that I can enjoy being just a mom and don’t need to rush into going back to school. If it isn’t going to work and makes me unhealthy or causes me to miss crucial parts of my kids young lives, then it isn’t worth it. These times are precious and this is such a developmental time for Madeleine that I really need to take my time with her and enjoy her before she is “grown up” like Sierra (or so she thinks.) I am still taking an online class and so will remain in the school’s system. We will see what happens this Spring.

4 comments

  1. Sc doesn’t felt as well as hdc, but it’s still a cool little ball.

    I try to keep an eye on Elena’s diet, but don’t completely eliminate juice-one glass a day because I have seen with other families who restrict diets, the rebound effect is sometimes worse.

    I had a problem from a blood draw one time similar to yours. I have very small veins that roll. They usually have to use the baby butterfly on me and whenever I get IV’s, they only last about 1 1/2 days. In fact, theytold me the next hospitalization (which I hope doesn’t happen), I’ll be best suited for the pic line done using the ultrasound to find the vein in the neck-I can’t remember what it’s called. Anyway, I was in a hematologist’s office and I told the girl in there that she needed to use a small needle-she pooh-poohed me because “she does this all day long”-anyway, the vein rolled, she restuck and put the damn regular sized needle for drawing blood right through the vein, both sides. I thought I would freaking die! It’ll go away, try to take Motrin if the pain gets worse.


  2. Cute ball, but do you think increasing and decreasing is a beginner project? It certainly would have frustrated me when I was starting out. But, that may just be me, lol.

    Maybe the lack of felting had to do with the polyfill since polyester doesn’t shrink? Also, some yarns shrink better than others, too. You can try washing it again.

    I love felted balls, they are so cool.

    I’ll think about some recipes. A lot of them are in my head and it’s hard to explain them to others. Let me know again what you are trying to avoid.


  3. Wow! It sounds like you are doing really well. 🙂


  4. Hi! I found your blog through LunarAwe’s (I was her sock wars assassin) and thought you might like this site:

    http://vegweb.com/

    I’ve been vegetarian for four years now, and I’ve gotten many, many good recipes from this place. What’s great is that other cooks leave comments, letting you know if you need less rosemary if it’s fresh, the recipie has a mistake in it, if it’s also great with tofu, etc.

    Some of my favorites are:
    General Tao’s Tofu — http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=8769
    Sweet and Sour Tofu — http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=8461
    Lemon Rosemary Tofu — http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=10850.0

    (I guess I like tofu)



Leave a Reply

