h1

Life unravelled…

September 30, 2006

Wow, things have just been going nuts here.  Tony got into a car accident on Wednesday right in front of his work.  It was embarrassing for him and it totalled our reliable car.  He is okay, mentioned his back hurt him a bit today.  I am hoping it is nothing that lingers with him.  We will be shopping for a new car soon.

I had a physical today and was told that maybe my caffeine intake is contributing to some anxiety stuff I have been having.  I need to quit it for 2 months.  I don’t know how I can do that and as I agreed to that I came to the realization that I think it would be easier for me to lose weight then to quit caffeine.   My doctor suggested both.  Again, I am told I need to do the zone diet and have been recommended the book,  Mastering the Zone.   In regards to health, I was asked about a cholesterol drug that I was suppose to be using, but knew nothing about.  So she is going to recheck my cholesterol.

If only I could do what everyone in my life thinks I should do to change myself.  I get tons of unsolicited advice from everyone.  I honestly get tired of people suggesting that if only I walked _ miles every day would I lose the weight or suggest that I stick to so many calories…

I just wanted to state for the record to the world and to myself that I am aware of what it takes to be healthy in diet and in exercise.  Why am I not in that place?  No explaination.

I think it is like telling a smoker, if you only quit smoking…blah, blah, blah…  There are people that can just quit.  There are people that don’t care.  There are people that do care and periodically try to quit and can’t and they sit at the brink of wanting to quit.  That is me.  I want to lose weight.  I want to be healthy.  I have tried many diets and yet here I am again, sitting at the brink…

Oh and on top of it all, I have a cold.   Didn’t I just have one a month ago?  sigh…Sorry for the depressing blog post.  I guess I do feel a bit depressed today.

11 comments

  1. oh hon, i am sorry people are giving you such a hard time, what a nice place this world would be if people only minded their own business!!!!!losing weight is not easy for anyone and for someone who has back problems its even harder and they should butt the heck out. as far as caffeine, i too am hooked on it, actually its the only thing which gets me through my day besides my meds, which is another pet peeve with me, i hate when people judge me, mainly telling me how i should not take the meds i am and things like that, they have no clue do they.? you do what you can when you can and they can all go kiss my grits as far as i am concerned lol you have had a bad week,you need some tlc, i know your very thankful tony was not hurt badly, accidents happen, we deal with them when they do, god bless sweetie and sending BIG squeezes, but gentle ones lol try and relax and get some serious crocheting done huggggggs vicki


  2. I have noticed those people who are quickest to but in with unsolicited advice are those least happy with their own lives.
    It’s easier to tell someone who to run their life than it is to fix their own miserable exsistances.

    No advice just a suggestion… maybe cutting caffiene back by half and dieting?
    I told drs a long time ago I would give up caffiene as soon as I restart smoking… I cut way back but I still have to have it.

    I am glad Tony wasn’t hurt too bad and hope his back is ok and hope y’all find a super good deal on a car.

    Cheer up! Love yourself and to heck with everyone else.


  3. Yep – unsolicited advice. Couldn’t you just scream?

    You’re a smart, savvy lady. You’ll get to the place you need to be. Despite all the well-meaning (and not so well-meaning) advice.

    As for giving up caffeine, I’d be a zombie without it! I’d cut out 50%, but that’s it. Just tell yourself a little anxiety can be a good thing! (I’m being tongue-in-cheek here in case you can’t tell. ::wink::)


  4. Diet and cut out caffeine same time? I would ease out of the caffeine, so you don’t get the headaches that sometimes accompany the withdrawel.

    A friend of mine did the Zone diet and liked it. She was also a vegetarian and it worked well for her.

    Just what you wanted, my unsolicited advice.


  5. Honestly dieting is JUST like quitting smoking, good analogy. With either one it has to be YOU who wants it, not someone else who wants you to do it … and when you want it badly enough, when you’re really ready to do it, you will. As for caffeine, I had to go off it with my recent bout of kidney stones; for me it was easier doing it cold turkey (same way I quit smoking) and just getting the nastiness over with. My girlfriend eased off it, substituting one caffeine-free drink a day for a week, then two, etc., and that worked beautifully for her. Do what works for you; you’re the only person who can make that decision.


  6. I’m sure I gave some advice on here before. If I did, I apologize. I think sometimes people get so excited about what works for them, they want to share it.

    I will say this though, when you are ready, you will find what works for you. The key phrase is “when you are ready”. For me, I knew I was overweight. I didn’t need anyone else to tell me. But, I had to want it for myself and be ready to make the changes I needed.

    (((HUGS)))


  7. Just sending hugs and good wishes that you feel better soon…and car shopping isn’t too much of a chore.


  8. The way I control my caffeine intake is to make sure the coffee I drink is PERFECT. Spend extra if you have to, but enjoy every darn drop of the amount you allow yourself. I would rather have one GOOD mug of coffee a day, than more mediocre coffee. I will skip my morning coffee if we don’t have whole milk for it; even though I’ve only drunk skim for years. I don’t use whole milk for anything but my coffee. If you don’t want to do that, try making the coffee 1/4 decaf and 3/4 good coffee; and see if you notice it too much. Don’t cut caffeine abruptly; you’ll get a heck of a headache, but just little at a time.

    If it was so darn easy, we’d all be looking like supermodels and living forever.


  9. I am so glad that Tony is okay! That’s scary.
    Regarding health, I think when you look at “here” and “there,” it seems like a huge long road. I’m now trying to take just one healthy step a month (drinking more water, eating no carbs one day (That is SOOO hard for me!), etc., to make it a lifestyle change instead of a “diet.” Don’t know if it’s working, but I’m hoping!!!
    xooxo
    Lainie


  10. Just wanted to send a {{HUG}} your way!


  11. losing weight is hard there is no ‘just’ about it. My partner and I are trying to lose over 100 pounds each. I am a little better off then her since I will eat a bigger variety of things. but it still ain’t easy and it doesn’t come off nearly as fast as it went on.

    I am lucky on the caffiene front, too much makes my stomach upset, so I am pretty caffiene free, not everyone is that lucky though, and it is everybit as hard a habit to kick as smoking maybe more since you don’t tend to get as much support from those around you, and there are no handy little caffiene patches or gum to help 🙂

    remember everyone is diffrent you gotta do what is best for you. And as long as you are happy ignore what anyone else thinks.



Leave a Reply

