h1

Stoned

November 6, 2006

I wasn’t going to post about this, but decided I could use the positive thoughts.

I went to the doctor on Friday for what is called “gross hematuria.”  If you don’t know what that is, google it.  Let’s just say my pee has not been normal.

He looked at it under the microscope.  No infection, no sugar, no protein, but lots of red blood cells.  In fact there were so many that he insisted I look at them under the microscope also.  I actually was pretty excited as that is the scientific nature of myself.

He explained to me it was most likely from kidney stones, but I would need to have an x-ray and a scan and see a urologist to verify.  My back had been hurting last week, but not in my kidneys, just my usual back pain spot.

Well, Saturday morning I woke up in extreme pain.  Pain scale from 1 to 10 was an absolute 10.  It scared Tony.  We had been together for almost 9 years and he doesn’t remember a time I had ever used 10 as my pain.  (Well, except maybe post surgery pain.)
I am an anti-ER person and so I had him on the phone with my doctor to get me some pain meds, but in my mind I was thinking I definately could use some IV pain meds right about that time.  Then, I remembered I had some meds left over from my back surgery, so I took those.  That took the edge off and I laid in a ball on the couch Saturday morning.  By mid-afternoon I was starting to feel better again.

Well, I have the pain on and off.  I haven’t passed the stone.  I have no idea where the thing is.  Right when I think I am fine, and without pain the pain comes back, but never as strong as it was Saturday morning.  Lately it has been feeling like a bad side ache, like the kind you get when you run, except it doesn’t go away.

Tony keeps asking me where it is…frankly I don’t know.  I wish I did.  I wish I had some type of radar and was able to say…”well, the stone has passed the kidney and is now descending the left ureter…”…like a play on play commentary.

I have been trying to drink as much fluids possible to “build up pressure” to help push it along its way.  I am assuming this is the best possible method to get the thing out of me.  Although I think that is a catch 22 as I noticed when I fill up on liquids is when I start to feel the pain again.

I finished the Creole Bag.  The pattern has a couple of errors that I will post about soon.  I have a few details to do and then I will post a picture of it.

I submitted a pattern to the new S&B book.  I will let you know what comes of that.

Up next is just finishing some projects…lining some of the bags I have recently made…and getting rid of that stupid stone.

7 comments

  1. {{{{{hugs}}}}} (if you don’t mind hugs from a lurker 🙂
    Here’s hoping the stone passes very quickly.


  2. Owie! Here’s hoping you don’t have any more pain like Saturday, and that this is over soon. Sending out lots of healing energy hun. Rest, and do whatever it is one does to help this process along. {{{Hugs}}}


  3. *hugs* Hope you feel better soon.


  4. *hugs* …I’ve had two, and they *suck*!


  5. Sounds like an infection as well, but the Dr. would have caught that. The fluids making the pain worse sounds like a UTI is brewing as well. That can also show blood. That really sucks. I hope you feel better real soon.


  6. I hope you’re feeling better soon!


  7. Get well soon. Good luck on the submission.



Leave a Reply

