h1

Stents suck

November 29, 2006

Having a stent in your kidney sucks.  I pretty much hurt from right after I went pee until the next time I had to go again.  The urgency thing was awful.  I would have this severe pain after going in my bladder area and then this deep pain in my kidney, like someone kicked me.  At night the pain would kill me in my kidney.  There was no sleeping position that was comfortable.  I would find myself tossing and turning eating pain meds like candy and then only sleeping 1 1/2 hrs until I had to go pee again and then it would start all over.  During the day I found myself falling asleep in a sitted position as that was the most comfortable.

Well, I got it taken out today and that really sucked.  It hurt so bad that my brain went into a black hole, pass the point of coping and into a whole different dimension.  The girl that was assisting the doctor tried to tell me it was similar to getting a catheter put in/taken out.  No it isn’t.  There is no comparison.  In fact, I am pretty offended they didn’t offer any type of anesthetic or anything to make me comfortable.

It was suppose to take 15 seconds, and it didn’t.  It especially sucked when the doctor said, “oops, it slipped.”  It was at that point I realized I get to go through the pain all over again.

The crazy thing is I have passed more of the larger stones today, after not having the stent in.  My kidney hurts me and my whole left side feels traumatized.  I am sure I will feel better tomorrow.

I had another xray done today and the stone that was in my right kidney is still there.  Before I had the procedure done on the xray it looked between the size of a penny and dime. Now it looks like the size of the eraser on the end of a pencil.

I didn’t get to see my doctor as he is on vacation.  I am suppose to go back in 2 months to find out what they are going to do about the kidney stone in my right kidney and also will tell me what type of stones they are.  I am tempted to cancel it as I don’t want to go through this stent thing again.

So now I am hoping that I start getting better and the right kidney stone stays put until atleast after Christmas.  I am sick and tired of being “sick” and in pain.  I think I might write my doctor’s office a letter and tell them that it would probably be better for their patients if they did something to make them more comfortable during that procedure.  Some valium would have been nice, truly.

Seriously, that procedure hurt worse than the kidney stones.

So, I have taken some pictures of the stones I have passed.  Should I show you all a picture or would that gross you out?

8 comments

  1. Wendy – I’m so sorry that you’re in so much pain. I hope things get better soon.


  2. ((BIG HUGS)) Wendy, I hope that the pain subsides for you. It has to be a very bad situation for you. The girls are no doubt wishing Mommy was back to normal. I just wanted to let you know that I will continue to keep you in my thoughts and I wish you a very fast recvovery.


  3. Ugh, what a miserable week it has been for you. I hope you continue to feel better! My thoughts are with you.


  4. I hope you are pain free and feeling better soon, Wendy.


  5. OMG, how the hell do they take them out without anesthetic? You don’t ghave to go into details here, but I am feeling so horrible for you.

    Unfortunately, if you have pics-send em to me-this stuff fascinates me.

    You have had a bad, really bad couple of weeks lately-health wise it’s been a rough couple years for you. Hugs to you.


  6. Next time you should offer to stick them in him without anesthesia.

    I’m with Deneen, I am facinated with all things medical too. I’m so sorry it happened to you, but would be suitably impressed with the pictures.


  7. I’m glad the stents out but Oh it sounds just awful and I’m feeling so bad for you.


  8. Oh how horrible! I remember the pain when they used a catheter during my second labor, the jerks kept taking it *out* and putting it back in and I didn’t have an epidural. I swore that pain was worse than the labor pains! I’m thinking this stent thing is something I never ever want to have to go through! I’m so sorry you had to!! Keeping you in my thuoghts and sending pain free energy your way!



Leave a Reply

