h1

Up in the wee hours of the morning…

December 14, 2006

My kidney hurts and I can’t sleep.  The crazy thing is my doctor told me I shouldn’t be in any pain anymore.  Per the ct scan, there is nothing to be causing me pain, still some small fragment stones in both kidneys, but nothing blocking the ureter.

Of course, I think maybe he damaged my ureter or my kidney or maybe I am just so darn fat in the middle that the ct scan doesn’t show exactly what is going on.  I don’t know.  All I know is that I hurt.  I dread sleeping too, as I wake up in the worse pain which for some reason I try to sleep through instead of get up and get pain meds.  If you are in pain, don’t ever do that, it is just stupid. I wonder if it is one of the body’s defense mechanisms.

I am working my butt off to get my house in order for my family’s Christmas party.  I still have a long ways to go.  I have most of my presents finished.  Can’t show them.

I just cut out some fabric to make placemats.  I am only making 10.  I am expecting 8 people (maybe 9)…and with the drama that happens at family events, maybe only 7.  (not counting kids, of course.)  I am only making 7 napkins, is that wrong?  Okay…maybe I can come up with an 8.  Apparantly I underestimated yardage on that and am too lazy to go back to the fabric store.

So…should I stabilize my placemats with something?  In the past I quilted them with a thin batting.  Should I do this, or should I just sew two rectangles together and turn them?  I am looking for something quick, but also something that will look nice and hold up.

Deneen sent me a fabulous Christmas present.   She sent me some gorgeous roving that I need to take a picture of and come back and edit this post.  I absolutely love them and really can’t wait to have my spinning wheel set back up in my bedroom.  I need Tony to move some things for me before that will happen, but maybe by this weekend.  I would like to show my sister how the spinning wheel works and she will be in town for a quick visit from Texas.

Sorry this is another pictureless post.  For someone with a new camera, I am not doing much with it, huh?  Honestly, I am afraid to leave it out because of the kids (particularly Madeleine)  and if I put it up it isn’t convenient to just grab it and shoot.

Oh…and I think I have finally convinced Madeleine to stop eating the ornaments.    I hope.

7 comments

  1. The kidney/pain problem sucks and I understand the not wanting to go to sleep theory completely.

    I can’t wait to see the placemats completed. When we moved here 4 years or so ago, I had a Christmas tablecloth, Fall tablecloth, etc-it’s a tile table and I only use the cloths for holidays, but damn if I have ever found any of them and I need to get something for Christmas, but know as soon as I buy stuff, the others will turn up.

    Glad you liked the roving and can’t wait to see it spun up.


  2. I’m guessing you’re probably passing some of the smaller stones (which, although small, still hurt like the dickens), either that or you have an infection, which often comes after kidney stones.


  3. Hi Wendy! Thank you so much for your advice about the knitting club meetings and the day/time of the meetings! I´ll think about it next year! Thanks again!


  4. I am sorry to hear you are in pain still. I hope my yardage estimates were not the cause of the shortage. If so, I apologize dearly.

    Big hugs to you!


  5. Oh dear! I hope you feel better soon. It’s just no fun being in pain.

    I don’t know much about sewing – how about using that iron on backing stuff – what’s it called? Interface or something like that? That may give it that little bit of body your looking for.


  6. Oh man! I was hoping you were done with all this! You probably have some of those small ones starting to pass. I’m going to pray for you tonight! Hang in there and get some rest. Kidney stones are a good excuse for not getting everything done! :o)


  7. I wish you complete and fast recovery. I understand pain and pain from stones is not nice. Keep up the good work and you are in our prayers and thoughts.



Leave a Reply

