h1

Not a baby…

January 7, 2007

Madeleine has verbally made it clear to me that she is no longer a baby.  She has been telling me this for the past few months, our conversation will go like this:

Me:  Come here, baby and let me snuggle you.

Maddie:  I am not a baby.

Me:  What are you?

Maddie:  I am a kid.

She knows she isn’t quite a big girl and instead of me accepting her being a toddler or a preschooler, I keep holding on that she is still my baby.  After all, she has that baby/angelic face with those curls.

Today, however, I went to teach my class and when I came home I noticed that Madeleine seemed taller to me.  It is weird that leaving the house and kids gives me this new, fresh viewpoint.  After examining her I noticed that her baby belly is gone, her legs are longer, and really she is a little girl and isn’t really my “baby” anymore.

A tear came to my eyes when I thought…hmmmm…I need a baby.

Well, since then, I have come to my senses, ha ha and no I will not be having a baby any time soon, knock on wood.

I almost finished the Baroque jacket from the Happy Hooker.  I am just working on the border, so should have it done later tonight, though I probably won’t take a picture until tomorrow.

2 comments

  1. Ah, the comments now show through IE-hmmmm

    Can’t wait to see the Baroque. As for Madeline, in another year or two she will tell you “Even though I am not a baby, I will always be your baby”-wait and see.


  2. My “baby” is graduating high school this year and she has come to grips with the fact that she will always be my baby.

    Although when I look at her baby pictures, I kind of sigh sentimentally, I have to say that I never wish she was still a baby. Being a mom to a girl is wonderful. Watching offspring develop into this strong, wonderful lady has been a great privelege.



Leave a Reply

