h1

Ribbed Socks – Finished

February 1, 2007

I finished these ribbed socks.  If you remember, this was the Socks That Rock yarn that had all of the knots.  I had to do the russian join, to join the balls of yarn as I was going.  I am really happy with these socks.  I look forward to visiting the Blue Moon Fiber Arts booth when I go to Stitches West in a few weeks.

The pattern is a 2×2 rib where one row is the 2×2 and one row just knit.  If I could do it over again, I would have done the first inch or two in straight 2×2 with no knit row in between.  This would have gathered the top of the sock more and make them less saggy.  They aren’t really saggy though, just the different ribbing would have made them less saggy…if you get what I am trying to say.

I did a short row heel, which I love.  I don’t think I can ever go back to a heel flap.  The heel flaps always end up so big and baggy on me, while the short row heel is always a perfect fit.

7 comments

  1. Those socks look great! Do you have any tips on how to keep the holes unnoticeable or minuscule on the short row heel? I have problems getting a good short row heel because I have huge holes where I pick up the wrapped stitches.


  2. Great socks! I’ve only just learned how to knit socks – using two circular needles. I wonder if you can do short row heels with two circs? They sure look neater that the flap kind – if you ask me. (and thank you for your comments at my blog!) 🙂


  3. Those look wonderful!! I have some stripey sock yarn that I’m trying to decide what to do with.. it might be that! Thanks for the idea 🙂


  4. Nice! I am so jealous, yet again.


  5. Very pretty.

    I actually prefer a heel flap – nice and cushy. 🙂


  6. Very nice! I love the colour. 🙂


  7. Those socks are great! Love that colorway!



Leave a Reply

