h1

Spinning, Sock, and Sweater Progress

February 7, 2007

First, I did some spinning. I spun 4 ozs of Corriedale in Brick. It is some roving that I got free with my spinning wheel last year. Sadly, it has taken me a year to spin it. I finally figured out the problem or maybe I should rephrase it as I finally figured out a new “trick” to spinning.

Last year, when I was starting to spin, I was taking chunks of roving and then trying to spin it down into yarn. I would get a lot of thick and thin and over-spun areas and it was a lot of work and frustration. This time, I decided to split the roving lengthwise several times so I was only spinning a thin long length of roving (not small chunks.) This made my spinning turn out much smoother. I had a lot less over-spun sections and overall I was much happier.

I went ahead and plied it, so it is two ply. After I put it into a hank, I was surprised the yarn didn’t try to kink up on itself, so I think that it is more balanced than anything I have tried to spin thus far.

I am not a pro. I am not even experienced at spinning. However, I am finally feeling happier about it. I really think it took putting it away in the closet for awhile for me to get a renewed spirit about it. I am like that. I did hurt my shoulder a bit spinning…I know, that is sad. I will have to give spinning a break for a few days.

Here is the sock I am working on. Since I was sick most the night last night I was able to work on it in bed on and off and made it past the heel. Nothing fancy…It is super-wash so when my mom washes the socks they won’t felt (like the other pair I made her…even though I told her to hand wash…she doesn’t listen.)

Here is the front of my dad’s sweater I am knitting him. I didn’t understand the bind off, so I don’t think I did it right. Why would they say, bind off eleven and then bind off ten. If you are working two balls (two sides of the neck) at the same time, Do you do them opposite?

***Edited to add…the directions doesn’t say to do it opposite and only gives the bind off for one side, which is a total of 21 stitches.  It says to bind off 11 stitches at one time and then bind off 10.  Bron told me I would bind off 11 knit to the end, knit back and then bind off the 10.  I can see how that would give me a bit of a slope.  So do I do the opposite for the other side?  Sometimes my brain confuses me…

I know it is hard to see. I could have adjusted the color…but I am lazy. It doesn’t matter, the sweater is sort of curled up on itself on the sides.

4 comments

  1. Sorry you are still feeling ick-good healing vibes being sent your way.

    The spinning looks great!

    The sock is cool. BTW, I am bad like your mother about the socks and the ones you sent me fulled a bit (yes, can’t full anything in my machine, but what I don’t want to), however, they fit like a glove now and when I wash them, I stretch them back out and they are absolutely perfect and very warm-my favorites and I save them for when I am going out (LOL), but wear them 2-3 times a week (yes, I do a lot of laundry).

    The color of your dad’s sweater is beautiful-he’s gonna love it!


  2. Hi Wendy–when you’re working two sides of a front at the same time–they are often mirror images of each other, and they could be off a stitch count on purpose if it’s easier to work a sizing or pattern that way… So even if it didn’t make sense, it might be right–the sweater and socks and yarn all look awesome!


  3. Your two ply looks great. 🙂

    I wish I could wear wool socks. Our weather is so temperate here that wool would make me miserable all day.


  4. I went through this same shoulder “step” thing with the Rowan Bob (from Rowan babies) and it was ugly seaming that up. I am going to try Japanese short rows for my next shoulder (assuming I can’t do a 3 needle bind off!!) avoid those steps next time.



Leave a Reply

