h1

More Spinning and a Sock

February 8, 2007

Deneen sent me some roving called, Sherwood Forest, pictured here.  It was roving she purchased from WovenNSpun.  Well, I spun it today.  It is almost 3 ozs.

I enjoyed spinning it.  Though after I plied it again, my right shoulder started to hurt.  I hate getting old…

I knew I should have taken a day off, but it is hard not to spin on my wheel when it is sitting in my bedroom.  I planned my housework around giving myself time to be in there tonight.  Plus, while I do have plenty of yarn in my house, if I spin up all of my raw fiber it gives me something to want to purchase when I go to Stitches West in a few weeks.

I am feeling much better today.  Luckily, neither Tony nor did any of the kids get my stomach bug.

I finished the sock for my mom.  I casted on the second sock.  It is my method of not having second sock syndrom, if it is on the needles I can’t cast on another sock.  So far, it has worked brilliantly.  I do have a set of metal size 1’s I can use, but I realized I hate knitting socks on size 1’s.  While the feel good on my feet, it takes FOREVER!

Pretty sock, huh?  I think my mom is going to need some shoes that show off all of my pretty socks that I make for her.  Maybe she will buy herself a pair for her birthday.  😉

4 comments

  1. Getting older is not for the weak and you are way younger than I am ;P.

    That spun up beautifully-you are forcing me to want to spin.

    Cool on the sock.


  2. Beautiful yarn and sock!


  3. Dude! I love your sock! When are you going to master the “toe” sock?


  4. The ball looks great! Lovely — I’m sure the recipient will love it!
    Take it easy. Be kind to yourself!
    xoxox
    Lain



Leave a Reply

