h1

For the sake of Summer

March 8, 2007

Is this eczema? 

I get this every year around summer time, all over my lower legs.  They are like little sores.   I normally don’t wear shorts because of it and that bothers me.  At first I thought it was from shaving, like I was allergic to the razors.  So I stopped shaving and while that helped, I still have been getting this.

Hey, if I don’t have fiber related things to post about, at least I can consistently fall back on complaining about myself.  I know that is pretty lame, but I would like to figure out what this is and how to clear it up once and for all.  My doctor hasn’t been much help.

9 comments

  1. Hmmm… I don’t think so, but it could be. Does taking antihistamines help any?

    If it’s a shaving allergy, I’d say it’s the cream rather than the razor, although if you have metal allergies, I suppose it’s possible it’s the razor. Another idea is that you might have the same little bumps I get that my doctor said were dry skin (whatever), and that shaving just cuts the tops off?

    I find that Aveeno hand cream sometimes helps with strange rashes for some reason.

    Is there a food that you eat in summer that you don’t eat in winter? Have you tried asking an allergist?

    Warning: don’t get me started on allergies, I can go on forever. 😉


  2. Oh… and at least you’re wearing a handknit in the photo. 😉


  3. I agree with Andrea about the shaving issue. Instead of using shaving cream or gel, try using the conditioner you use for your hair. It softens the hairs on your legs and also moisturizes your skin without irritation. If your scalp isn’t irritated by the conditioner your legs shouldn’t be either; your scalp has much more sensitive skin than your legs. Have you tried (in a small area first) a hair removal cream like Nair or Veet? If you’re getting a razor burn even with gel or cream, then the non-shave method might work for you. If you can handle it, you could even try waxing instead.

    If it itches, you can try rubbing in some hydrocortisone cream and see if that helps. If not, you may need something stronger.

    It sort of looks like my allergy-induced eczema that comes on during dry spells in the winter and flares any time I use the wrong soap, shampoo (tea tree extract really does a number), or any kind of bubble bath for my kids. I have to use a steroid ointment to calm the itching and clear up the flares.

    I use betamethasone dipropionate 0.05% and it works wonders. It’s available only with a prescription, so if you talk to your doctor about it, they may be able to help.


  4. x gohan dragonball x dragonball bulma


  5. I am getting the same looking things on my lower legs, as well. And indeed, it is the start of spring/warm weather. Very strange, I’ve never gotten it before. It does seem like eczema. My mom and aunt get breakouts too, not necessarily in the same place though, so maybe that is what it is.


  6. Yea it looks like my boyfriends …allergy eczema..um camomile may help or licorice…maybe put it in a cream to shave?? honey also antibacterial anti allergetic…i use it instead of soap to wash mixed with olive oil…olive oil is soooooooo good 4 eczema:)
    i also mix in suger as exfoliant…dunno if thats good for exzema but a good face scrub 🙂


  7. This is eczema. Use good cream with vit e or other heavy lotions (not watered down) and it will seriously help. Also, the cream worked for chapped lips. Chapsticks don’t work for me and usually irritate me skin more.


  8. Also, certain soaps, laundry detergent, etc… can irritate skin so be care of product. Try sensitive skin/hypo allergenic when breakouts are occurring. I buy special laundry detergent and only use it when my skin is bad because it’s usually more expensive. Also, changing soaps/detergent will cause break outs. Find what you like and stick with it. It’s Tide for me. My mom used Tide when I was growing up and I just have to use it or I break out. Good luck.

    Also, a side-note is that you must remember that your skin is now an open wound which can allow infection. Be careful around anything spread through cuts.


  9. i get this too and it keeps spreadin itz creepn me out



Leave a Reply

