h1

Spinning

March 11, 2007

Deneen sent me this roving for Christmas…

I mentioned it a few months back.  I finally have started to spin it.  There are some things I like and dislike about it.

I spun it using the fast flyer head on my Lendrum and was getting a really nice yarn.  I haven’t tried the fast flyer before and am happy I am able to spin something other than a thick/thin yarn.  While it might not all be one thickness, it is closer to the sock yarn that I am hoping to one day be able to spin.

I really love the colors of this roving.  It is absolutely gorgeous spinning up.

I think the fiber is a good one for beginner’s also.  It is a dorset cross roving.  It isn’t the softest, but it is sort of “sticky” and the fibers don’t break easily, so it is good for beginners.

What I don’t like about this roving is that there was a lot of vegetative matter in it.

I don’t know if you can see it in this picture.  The greenish roving that is blended in there had the most stuff.   I am use to seeing debris in yarn and roving, but this seemed like a lot.  The purplish roving has some fuzzballs and it seems like every time I try to get purple into my yarn, it fuzzes or balls up in the yarn and then I have to pull it off.  This may be my technique or the roving, I am too inexperienced to really know.

Those are just minor details and I think the roving is spinning into some really nice wool yarn.  I was able to sping about 2 1/2 ozs of the 8 ozs I have.

3 comments

  1. Pretty color

    Bummer about the vegetative matter and probably worse the thick purple fuzzies.

    Hopefully the other roving won’t be as much of a PITA


  2. Wow it looks great! I really love the colors.


  3. Love the roving! I wanting to learn to spin, but where does one go for the wool?
    I have tried contacting someone locally who raises sheep but I have no idea of the quality of the wool, but I thought since i am just learning it wouldn’t matter much to practise with, but I haven’t heard back from them.
    However, at some point I will want a nice quality to spin and knit, do you have any recommendations?

    Any thoughts are much appreciated.

    Milly
    mlwstory2@yahoo.com



Leave a Reply

