h1

Baby Cardigan Finished

April 2, 2007

I finished a sweater, but it wasn’t the one I was hoping to finished.  I haven’t had a chance to block my father’s sweater…hopefully I will do that soon.  In the meantime, last night I finished the sleeves of the baby cardigan I was knitting and then today sewed the buttons on.  There are two small errors on it, one is in the back on the bottom trim and the other is in the front next to the garter stitch trim…can you seem them?  Both of them are just one stitch mistakes…oops, sometimes I make them.

I was going to knit the baby sweater for my cousin.  She is due at the end of May.  She is having a boy.  I was given the TLC Baby blue yarn in the Magic Yarn swap, so I thought this would be perfect for the sweater for him.  However, after I got the main part of it finished, I realized the fancy stitching around the yoke looks too girlish.  I asked Tony what he thought and he agreed.  I even left off the decorative stitching on the sleeves and I still think it is too girlish.

I still am going to finish the baby blanket for him.  So I took the sweater to work so it will be a sample to help attract people to my classes.  It is definitely cute.   I wish I would have taken a picture of the yoked crocheted cardigan I made out of SWS a few weeks back.  It was so beautiful.

Today we worked out in the garden again.  My lavender came back.  We cut off all of the old dead branches and there is a nice new bush underneath.  I weeded around it and it is good to go, smells, awesome too.  I bought a $4 lavender from Target a week ago and am ready to plant that.  I think I should plant it by my front walkway all of my flowers from last summer have died.  It gets a lot of sun there.  Tony thinks we should plant sunflowers there, but I think they will fall in on us when they get heavy.

I am almost ready to plant my vegetable garden.  We filled up the whole lawn container with weeds and tree branches (the berry branches are gone!!!)  🙂  Tony finally pruned them.  I need a little bit more work out in the backyard, including putting down some spider spray.  When I get Tony to help me we get a lot of work done.  Sometimes it is hard for me to get him to go outside since his allergies are so bad, but I think he enjoyed it.  It is a family project.

5 comments

  1. Beautiful cardigan! It is for a baby, I’m not sure it could be too girlish. However, I think it will definitely attract people for your class! What a good idea. 🙂


  2. Beautiful little sweater! So cute! It’s a jungle out there after winter, isn’t it? I need to get planting too.


  3. Good luck getting people into your classes! That sweater is too precious not to do the trick.

    My store would never keep something that beautiful in the window long; we’ve had demo theft problems. Has your store had problems with demos disappearing?


  4. The sweater is gorgeous. I don’t think the stitching is too girlish (I’m having a boy and knit a cardi like this for him) …


  5. Awesome!!!



Leave a Reply

