h1

Why didn’t you tell me?

April 20, 2007

So my husband got promoted at work and he has been dressing nicer with collared shirts.  However, the buck stops at his pants as he won’t wear pants since it gets too hot for him.

So we decided that “dress shorts” would be his compromise.  This week he went to work and everyone noticed his change in appearance and joked with him that it looked like he was going golfing.  He laughed, too.

Tonight he came home and I noticed that his brand new shorts have a 2 inch rip in the back.  I pointed it out and he was just like, “huh?”  “Why didn’t anyone tell me?”  Apparently he had backed into something sharp earlier in the day and didn’t realize that they had ripped and nobody told him.

Which…brings me to my question to you.  Why didn’t you tell me that one shoulder looked shorter than the other shoulder in my Plum top?  HUH?  Yes, I was one repeat off on one side, which is actually 12 rows off or 3 inches off.

3 inches off!!  Can you believe that I didn’t even noticed.

Can you believe that I finally figured out the crab stitch and had it all put together and was about ready to block it when I realized…

One shoulder looked shorter than the other…oh, by about 3 inches.

I ripped it out, the crab stitch, the grafting, the stitching and then fixed it all, adding 3 inches to one of the shoulders, grafted it back together and after what seemed like 3 hours…I am good to go again.  Well, except for the fact that I have cut the yarn so many times that I don’t think I have a long enough piece to go around the neckline

Tomorrow, I will work on the crab stitch around that shoulder and the neckline and then will block it and be done.

Man, sometimes I am stupid.  It is easy to get confused with cables and lace patterns and you know it is my own fault for taking both of the shoulders off the one needle and working them separately.  The double balls of yarn were getting twisted in the one cable needle, so I figured doing them separately was better.  I was wrong there.

On a side note, the crab stitch hurts my left thumb muscle.  It is the first time I have felt any type of hand strain from crocheting.  Did I mention I don’t like the crab stitch?  It does look good, though…

4 comments

  1. I don’t know why people don’t tell you when you have a rip in your clothes or have toilet paper stuck to the bottom of your shoe, etc. One time I did see a lady come out of the bathroom with her skirt tucked in the back of her pantyhose-I didn’t tell her, I was too shocked and in all honesty, she was gone by the time I composed myself.

    I hate that part about straps-the rows are so short and sometimes I lose track of how many I did versus when I use a row counter for longer rows and it’s inevitable. My new thing is to do one side and then compare the other side by folding it over it, etc before finishing off-I’ve been bitten in the butt too many times with this.


  2. I just flipped through the archives… I don’t see a shot where the straps are finished.


  3. Hi Wendy! Thanks for visiting my blog!! Looks like we have a lot in common.


  4. Sorry. It looked great to me!



Leave a Reply

