h1

Random stuff

May 14, 2007

I did finish knitting a hat. I started it last week, before I got sick. It is Knitty’s shedir. I think it is one of the hardest knits I have done to date. The difficulty for it was keeping my concentration on what row I was on and if I should be cabling left or right, etc. I was able to get a ball of the Rowan Calmer to knit it with and it is very, very soft. I love that yarn. I wouldn’t mind making a knit top with that yarn. It was really nice to work with. It really has a spongy quality to it.

My garden is looking awesome, I even have some baby zucchini. 🙂

Thanks to the generosity of a friend, I was able to buy 3 more skeins of Cathay. I casted on for Boobalicious, a tank from the Big Girl Knits book this weekend. With size 4 needles, I was able to get gauge. It seems incredibly large right now. I am hoping this will change as I get up to the bust. My knitting speed is about 1 ball of yarn per day. I have used 3 balls and have 10 more to go…or at this rate, 10 more days to go.

The yarn is fabulous. I bought a 10 pack when my local yarn store went out of business. They had other 10 packs and now I wish I would have bought more. Discountyarnsale.com has it at a nice price, but not the deal I got!

It drapes really nice and I can already tell will make a very nice top. It splits very easily, though.

On Saturday, we went to K2 Yarn Salon. It is a little yarn store in downtown Tracy, CA. The owner is very friendly and welcoming. I got there right when she was closing, but she didn’t mind staying open while I shopped and didn’t seem to be bothered by my kids. We chatted a bit and she told me all about her sock get together where about 20 women get together monthly and knit socks. I wished I lived closer to Tracy as that sounds like a lot of fun. I didn’t buy much in there as I really am over my quota on yarn this month….er…year. I did buy the size 4 needles that I am knitting my top with.

Her store seemed to be stocked with all of the latest yarn trends, Noro, Trekking, Tofutsies, Karaoke, etc. It was fun! Her store was pretty easy to find, too. I will definitely have to go back there.

3 comments

  1. I didn’t think Shedir was hard, so much as hard on the eyes. lol The cables seemed to flow naturally to me so that I didn’t have to pay attn to the chart so much after I did the first repeat. But even with my glasses on, I felt like I was going crosseyed while looking at the stitches. I had to limit myself to just one repeat a day and do one round and then take a break. Otherwise, I got a big headache. It’s a great hat – I love it and would love to make another, however, my eyes don’t want to. If only I could knit cables with my eyes shut….lol


  2. I am sorry you are sick. 😦
    Thank you for the tip about K2 Yarn Salon! I have some LL yarn just waiting to become socks. Perhaps, K2YS can help. 🙂


  3. I just started learning how to knit and I live right by K2. I bought the needles and yarn and she gave me a free knitting lesson. I’m currently in love with Noro! 🙂 I’m working on my first piece.. *fingers crossed*



Leave a Reply

