h1

My Garden & Shedir

May 15, 2007

Here are the pics!

***Edited to Add…Do you see the first sunflower in the row?  The one on the very far left?  This morning when I went out to the garden, it had fallen over and all of the leaves were limp and sad.  I lightly lifted it out of the soil, only to find half of its roots were eaten.  The culprit?  A Gopher.   Sierra warned me there was a hole in the yard and after a few minutes it was buried.  I suspected it was a gopher, but I didn’t think he could get into my garden.

Sunflowers and corn (and weeds…just ignore those, I do.)

Zucchini (what you can’t see the carrots and bell peppers? They are under the canopy of the zucchini. The bell pepper will be moved soon. Today if I feel up to it.)

Do you see the baby zucchini? Here is a closeup.

My tomatoes are doing great! The one that was wilting has bounced back and has overcome whatever problems it was having. My remedy? Water and sunshine. I even have a baby tomato. I put the cage around them too late, so I couldn’t get it over the large one. I got it over half of it.

Finally, Shedir. I made this hat for a friend. I love the yarn. Like I said before, it was one of the most difficult knits for me, but that is because of my concentration issues. I enjoyed knitting it.

I am considering making a baby Shedir for my cousin’s baby. I was crocheting a blanket, but thanks to Madeleine it is now a ball of mess. (I love that Madeleine loves yarn, but am thinking she just needs to get her own.)

Also, Shedir has given me an idea for a new hat design. It will make me crazy doing it, but I have this inner desire…so I guess I will be going to the crazy house soon and will have a hat to show for it.

The tank I am making myself is going great! I should take an in-progress picture. I am almost up to the bust on the front side. I will give it a proper post tonight or tomorrow.

10 comments

  1. Wendy that hat is AWESOME!


  2. The hat looks great. I love the color.


  3. Hat looks great, as does the garden


  4. I’m so envious that you actually have some food growing already. Here in Jersey we are lucky to finally see some flowers, and trees budding.

    Beautiful hat! Wish I could do that also. 🙂


  5. Gorgeous hat! Nice job! I’m sure I’d have a heck of a time getting it right.


  6. The hat and garden are spectacular! You should be proud!


  7. The hat looks wonderful!

    I am so jealous about your garden! You’ve planted all of my favorite veggies so I love seeing the updates. 🙂


  8. Hi, I was just browsing through the Sockapalooza participants and found your beautiful Shedir. I am fighting with one myself at the moment and agree, it is quite a difficult knit but still enjoyable. Yours looks fabulous and I really like the idea of making a baby version.
    Great vegetable plant pictures, yummie.


  9. Gorgeous garden – and the hat is perfect!


  10. You have made quite a sensation here! I love your hat!



Leave a Reply

