h1

Fruits of our labor

May 24, 2007

On the way home from school I told Sierra how we had some big zucchini in the garden.  When she went outside to look at it, she became overwhelmed and picked one!  It is our first vegetable of the year.  In fact, for Sierra, it is her first home grown vegetable.  It isn’t very big and hasn’t been on the plant for very long, so I hope it still tastes good.  It is about 8 inches long.

Here is a picture of my garden from my back door.  You can see my fallen (and lack of) sunflowers.  My bell peppers are about to get peppers on them.  I am excited about that.  It was 93 degrees out there so I just didn’t feel like taking any closeup pictures.

5 comments

  1. Thats the best time to eat the veggies…if they get too big and stay on the vine too long they will get tuff. I think at least, better to eat a baby, then an old tuff one! 🙂 Your garden looks great Wendy!


  2. Whew! 93? We’ve been lucky this May and haven’t even gotten much into the 80’s….yet.


  3. The garden looks great. I always enjoyed “playing in the dirt” when we had a garden,but it’s just not possible around my house.
    Do the girls like vegetables? I would think watching your vegetables grow would be a great incentive to actually eating them.


  4. That is the perfect size zucchini! 🙂 Sierra did good. Enjoy!


  5. Hey, I tagged you!



Leave a Reply

