h1

Happy Garden

June 14, 2007

First, we have something that looks like a carrot:

I have never grown carrots before.  How much longer do I keep growing them? I was thinking 2 more weeks and then I would pick another one.  I guess I have no idea how to know if carrots are ripe (you know…since they are hiding in the ground.)

Next, we have a baseball bat, er…I mean, zucchini.  I don’t know how I managed to miss that one, but wasn’t feeling good the past few days and so only managed to water my garden.  This will be used to make zucchini bread.  I bet I could get atleast 4 loafs from this one zucchini.

Bellpepper…getting bigger:

First sunflower:  The interesting thing about this sunflower is it came up in front of the others (not where we planted them) and I think the flower will be smaller.  I wonder if this is a different variety or something.  The ones in the back will have large sunflower heads.

Overall Garden Shot:

First (and only) Corn:  Only one of my cornstalks has an actual corn on it.  I guess in a few months we will all be splitting this one?  LOL!

I have lots of tomatoes.  Here is one shot.  None of them have turned red yet, but man I am going to have a lot of tomatoes! 

Can you smell it…hmmmm…gardenia:

8 comments

  1. Lookin’ good! I’ve got tons of tomatoes, but like your’s none are red yet. I can’t wait! I saw my first buds on my bush beans today. Things are growing, just not fast enough to suit me lol.


  2. Neat! What’s cooler than your own veggies?


  3. Looks great! Have you ever made chocolate zucchini cake? It’s one of my Moms signatures, and it’s fabulous. I’m so jealous of your garden! (I have a windowbox planter thats half dead *lol*)


  4. I haven’t a clue about gardening at all, lol!
    But everything looks really great. 😀


  5. Great looking garden. What a zucchini!! And your tomatoes are huge. Nothing like a slice of fresh homegrown tomato on a grilled hamburger. MMMMM Good!


  6. You have a bountiful garden! All I have growing are 2 types of peppers.


  7. Carrots are always ripe… it just depends on how big you prefer them. 😉


  8. Gorgeous!



Leave a Reply

