h1

Askew back

June 26, 2007

I am almost finished with the back of Askew. I have an inch or so left to knit. I will finish it today and block it. I really would like to seam it tonight or tomorrow.
Back of Askew Top
Back of Askew Top

Madeleine swallowed sea glass. I called my doctor and was told to wait for it to come out the other end. My motherly instinct told me that she probably shouldn’t play with it. Sierra was playing with them and Madeleine really wants to do what Sierra does. I told Madeleine not to eat it, which she later did. I think it tasted like salt… Atleast I didn’t have to take her to the ER.

At first Sierra told me she was choking. I ran into the room and heimliched Madeleine about 3 times, before I realized that it wasn’t coming up. I had to do the Heimlich on Sierra when she was 3 with a mint candy, so I am very familiar with this procedure (as well as the fact that I have been a certified EMT, twice.) Instead, it went down, into her stomach.

As I was talking to the doctor he told me my CT results came back and the pain isn’t from the urinary system. So, what I thought was a very easy, “I can’t believe you missed this” type diagnosis, wasn’t it at all. Instead, I am told I might have adhesions in my small bowel.

I don’t know what is going on, but I had another sleepless night, sigh. I googled adhesions and have learned that a lot of people with adhesions live a life of pain that has made them crazy, ruined their relationships, job functioning, and basically taken the happy out of life. This is how I have felt the past few months and I really hope this isn’t my road.

To change the mood of my blog back to happy, my garden is doing nice things:

This is a picture out my back window at my sunflower.  Notice how tall it is compared to the neighbors house/satellite dish.

Today is the first day for it to open.  The one on the right hasn’t opened yet.

Welcome Sunflower!  (ps…it is so cool to watch the sunflowers follow the sun.)

I Spy…a red tomato.   Actually, I have two red ones.

6 comments

  1. Sorry to hear about your CT Scan results. I hope there is something that can be done for the pain.


  2. Askew is going to be beautiful. I love those colors.
    I’m sorry your tests results didn’t reveal the problem. I know it must be difficult for you to deal with the pain and still be a wife and mother.


  3. Askew is gorgeous!

    Stop “Googling”-it’s TMI, good to be somewhat informed, but so many things overlap other things-try, please try to relax.

    Sea Glass? What did the doctor suggest?


  4. thinking of you. I agree with Deneen, sometimes the internet hinders and doesn’t help.


  5. Askew is beautiful. Feel better Wendy!


  6. Askew is coming together!
    Yikes, about the seaglass.. your sunflower is enormous!



Leave a Reply

