h1

Askew – Finished

July 1, 2007

And, I like it.

Wendy's Askew

I did a little bit of manipulations to get this pattern to work for me.

The first thing I did was I unseamed the side seams. I then resewed it to from the bottom up. I stopped the side seam at the garter stitches before the last 10 stockinette stitches on the front. This is actually what it looks like in the original picture. I think that the finishing details might have been off, because the pattern says to seam up to the garter stitch on the strap.

So, when I seamed to the garter stitches before the 10 st, I got a larger armhole, which was perfect. I tried it on and I still wasn’t happy with the straps, but they were better than before.

So, I ripped the straps down. I bound off 9 stitches on the outside edge and picked up 9 stitches on the middle section (the stitches I had previously bound off.) I then knit the straps back up and attached them in the back.

I did attach them towards the center, which I think I might move, because I don’t think they are as comfortable.
Wendy's Askew

I love how it turned out and glad that I gave it some time to fiddle with it. I am wearing this directly against my skin and it isn’t too bad. This is definitely a top I can wear while at the ocean.

Pattern: Knitty Askew

Needles: Size 9

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden color 230 approx 6 balls (I had a little bit leftover.)

17 comments

  1. It’s gorgeous! Great job ;D


  2. It came out nicely-love the colors and the fit on you. Thank goodness you were able to figure it all out and it worked for ya-I would have been sobbing, but that’s another story in itself.


  3. Oh I love that!

    BTW, you won SOG Contest #3 Yay!!!


  4. It looks lovely! Like Deneen I would have been sobbing and have had no clue whatsoever on how to even attempt to fix it!


  5. i think it looks great!! you should be proud.


  6. Beautiful, just beautiful. That turned out so well!


  7. Damn sexy! I like the top too šŸ™‚


  8. LOVE IT! I wasn’t sure I would but I really do. I like the colors and the fit.

    Congrats on winning SOG #3 too!!


  9. It looks fantastic Wendy. I knew you’d get it completed.d


  10. Wow – Very impressive! I really like your mods & how it came out. šŸ™‚


  11. That is awesome!!! I knew you could fix it!


  12. Wendy, I love it !


  13. Looks great-you did such an impressive job!


  14. […] Sunny & 70 degree temp by the ocean….what can be better?Ā  I will definitely bring Askew to wear.Ā  Thanks again everyone for the nice compliments.Ā  I am glad I have inspired others to […]


  15. I LOVE that top pattern and think it looks beautiful on you. You did a beautiful job on it, and the bravery of the fixings you did too.


  16. Beautiful, Wendy! And it looks fabulous on you!


  17. Sweet! Nice work. šŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

