h1

Taos Tank Top

February 8, 2008

Tank Top

Pattern: Child’s Party Tank Top by Dawn Leeseman
Yarn: Trendsetter Yarns Taos
Needles: Size 8

edited to say: I had interpreted the pattern to have some errors, one of those is when you crochet the borders the numbers do not match up. I figured the crocheted border would have the same stitch count as the knit border.

However, Andrea suggested (and the designer agreed) that in this pattern you must crochet 3 stitches and then slip the 4th stitch, and this is to adjust in the gauge difference of knitting and crochet.

The crochet section well…you can tell it was written by a knitter.

Also, I am not particularly fond of how the shoulder straps were knit and finished off. I really like 3 needle bind off for shoulder straps so I think I would do that a bit differently.

edited to add: I forgot to mention that one of the shoulder straps in the front and the back has one extra row of knitting. I ended up modifying the pattern so that when you join the yarn and the neck edge on the purl side that I only purled across 3 stitches and then bound them off, so that way I ended up with the same rows on each shoulder edge. I don’t really know if this is an error, but honestly I pondered if it was meant to have the extra row or not and then decided to do it how I wanted to.

Overall though the pattern was fine and any experienced knitter and crocheter would be able to knit/crochet this in a few days. I was happy with how it turned out and so was the recipient, Madeleine. πŸ™‚

The designer of this pattern is going to be having a book published in July, called “Casual Elegant Knits-Classy Designs for Men and Women.” I look forward to seeing what this designer has done.

Finally, I wanted to point out that I sometimes forget how many people randomly come to my blog. I don’t always have very much time to write a blog post and at times just write off the top of my head, without edit. I suppose what I might have considered an error in a pattern, may just be a difference of perception and style. I did not mean for this to be a negative review towards the designer or design.

The top worked up really fast and Madeleine wears it all the time, which is a winner in my book. I am appreciative of the work it takes to design knitwear and am also thankful for the free patterns that are out on the web.

7 comments

  1. That’s a very cute top, and the color looks great on her.


  2. Aw, both the top and your little cutie-pie are adorable.


  3. OMG, look how much she’s matured! The top is cute.


  4. How adorable! πŸ™‚ It looks great.


  5. The top is adorable, and OMG look at her eyes! She’s gorgeous!


  6. Adorable! Great job. πŸ™‚ It could be the designer was trying to account for the different gauges. Both numbers are divisible by 12… actually by 24. Divide 24 out, and you get 3 sc for every 4 knit stitches. (Skip one knit stitch after sc in three.) But, at any rate, it came out fantastic, and I love it. πŸ™‚


  7. Hello;
    I appreciate your interest in my design. I think it turned out very cute!
    I came across your comments on my design for this tank top and would like to respond to them.
    I have not been contacted about any errors from Crystal Palace Yarns on this top; so I was surprised to come across this in your blog. I reviewed the pattern after reading your comments and did not see any error concerning the bottom edge numbers that were worked in SC. The original number is correct and produce a picot edge that matches the trim around the neck and armhole.
    The comment written by Andrea about placing 3 sc for every 4 knit sts is correct. Thank you Andrea!!!
    As far as the 3-needle BO for the shoulders, I think that is great, however not every person knows how to do this so it was written using the tradiontal BO.
    Please feel free to contact me off site about any other concerns you have with this pattern.
    Thank you, Dawn



Leave a Reply

