h1

Birthday Post

May 3, 2008

Today was my birthday.   It was better then last year. A friend of mine (non-yarn friend) gave me a basket full of yarn, knitting needles, coffee and a cheesecake. Coming from someone who is not a yarnie, it was an incredible thoughtful gift.

Tony made me a lemon cake. It was good, but not as good as my mom’s. I told him not to feel bad. Not many people can live up to my mom. 🙂

The girls gave me cards and then the girls and I went out to dinner. Sierra, of course, made sure everyone know it was my birthday. She even tried to make me wear her princess crown (she wore it the entire time in the restaurant.) I told her, “you know your mom, Sierra…she ain’t no princess.” When I was a little girl, I didn’t dream to be a princess. I wanted to be a cowgirl.

Madeleine’s birthday is Monday. I am hoping to be able to take her and a friend to Build a Bear. She is going to be 4 years old.

I knit a sock, with Noro Kureyon sock yarn. I just knit a generic sock, with a CO 64 st, size 1 needles.

The yarn had a problem though…the colors went from brown to a blazing pink! There was no gradual change and I started to question my ball of Noro yarn. I finally frogged back to the brown and cut the yarn. I then wound the yarn until I went through all of the colors to the next brown and lo and behold…it did not go right into a bright pink. So I joined the yarn there and went on with my knitting.

Noro Sock Yarn

Here you can see the lovely blue that was cut out of the yarn in the above picture. The sock below looks much better.
Noro Sock

I am trying to get Madeleine’s doll done. It hasn’t been easy making clothes for it. You think it would. However, I really gave the doll too much hair. She is top heavy and her head likes to flop around. It makes putting on doll sweaters difficult. Maybe she will leave it on? Or is that not much fun? I was hoping to be able to make the doll more clothes, but I think as long as she isn’t naked, it will be fine. Then I can make doll clothes at my convenience this summer, right?
Knit doll

Thanks all for the nice comments about her face.  This doll has been very challenging for me.  Seriously!  Please let’s hope that all the work I put into giving the doll hair isn’t for naught.  I spent hours giving that doll too much hair.  It would only take seconds for scissors to take it away.  Maybe this is too much doll for a 4 year old?

13 comments

  1. Sock and doll are both wonderful! Glad your birthday was a good one.


  2. Happy belated birthday!


  3. Sounds like you had a great birthday.


  4. Happy belated birthday!


  5. Happy Belated Birthday, I see we are few days apart in Birthdays. This years was very different than last year fro me as well. Nice sock yarn and the doll is very cute.


  6. Happy belated B-day to you & Happy B-day Madeleine!!


  7. Happy Belated Birthday to you and Happy Birthday to Madeleine!

    That doll is really darling but……hair and scissors are a potent mix.


  8. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, WENDY!


  9. Happy Belated Birthday!


  10. Happy Birthday!! 🙂


  11. Happy late birthday, Wendy! Hope it’s been a happy week! You sure have had some beautiful spring weather for it!

    Love,
    Amy


  12. Happy belated birthday!!
    I totally agree on the sock yarn color. Looks much better with the cut and paste job. Makes more sense to me. 🙂


  13. Happy belated birthday!



Leave a Reply

