h1

Summer Gifts

July 30, 2008

A few weeks ago I knit a couple of hats for my grandmother.  Here are two of them.  I have since made her one more and have more to make.  She had brain surgery at the end of the spring.  She started to do well, then got a staph infection in her brain.  They had to go back in and remove infected bone.  She almost didn’t make it.  She did make it and is doing well now.  I enjoy making hats for her.
Knit Cabled hat

Pattern:  Shedir (Warning .pdf file)

Yarn:  Berroco Love It  (very comparable to Rowan Calmer)

ps…I really do “love it” when it comes to this yarn.
crocheted hat

Pattern:  Crochet Me – Gulf Shores Hat

Yarn:  Kitchen cotton – like what you find at walmart.

This was an EASY pattern!  I have made two of them and will make more.

Knit Baby Layette

Patterns:

Hat:  Berry Baby Hat

Cardigan:  Eyelet Yoke Cardigan

Bootees:  Saartje’s Bootees

Yarn:  Little Lehigh DK – It’s a Girl

contrast:  Red Heart Care Free Cotton – Kiwi

button on layette

I bought these buttons at walmart.  It is hard to see the detail of the roses on the far away picture so I cropped the button so you can see a close up.

This baby layette is going to my friend Krista.  She had a gorgeous baby girl about 3 months ago.  (I don’t know or think she reads my blog.)  If she does…Surprise…ha ha.  I will be sending this out sometime this week.  I need to buy a nice card first.  Knitting this really gave me the baby bug.  Seriously.

Something shocking has happened to an exboyfriend from my past.  It was tragic and I suppose finally puts closure on my past.  I am just still finding it hard to digest the news.  I know I am being all secretive, but if you want to know, just email me.  I just can’t post the details here.

7 comments

  1. Wendy, I almost never care that I don’t knit until I see your projects! The hats are great and I LOVE that sweater set.

    I’m sorry to hear there was tragedy.


  2. Hi Wendy, I like the hats and LOVE the baby layette. Absolutely darling. Krista is lucky. 🙂

    So sorry about the tragic news.

    I have some news to share, too-if you get this, email me and I’ll tell you-otherwise I’ll email you later on anyway, but maybe not as soon. 🙂


  3. You sure have been busy. There are times when I think….”Netter, you need to pick up the knitting needles again.” Yep and I remind myself that I need someone to actual sit beside me and show me what I’m doing wrong for a while, just until I get the knack of it. I can make simple scarves and that’s about it. I’ll try again soon. I just have to get a few other projects done.


  4. I love the hats and the layette set. I’m sorry to hear about the difficult things your grandmother has been put through. I hope she is doing well. I bet she loves those hats.

    I’m intrigued by your post about the ex from the past, I may be sending you an email. 😉

    Have a great weekend!


  5. Hi Wendy, the hats are so pretty. That´s very sweet from you to your Grandma!
    Lucky baby girl, that set is adorable!


  6. Cute knitting projects! How’s the job search going? The bad economy is not all in your head, who is saying that? That’s ridiculous. I think it’s going to get worse before it gets better.


  7. Love the pink outfit and the hats are lovely!!!!



Leave a Reply

