h1

What’s that I hear….nothing.

August 18, 2008

Yep, it is pretty darn silent around here.  With both kids in school it is weird.  For the past 7+ years there has been some type of kid noise in this house, practically 24/7.  Now every day I will have 3 hours of pure silence.  Even the husband is taking it in…sleeping style.  Nothing goes better with a little afternoon silence than an afternoon nap.

I didn’t get the job I was interviewed for last week.  It was such a hard let down.  I felt so confident about the interview, especially with both people telling me “good answer” each time they asked a question.  Unfortunately they gave the job to someone with more health care experience.   It was just a school health clerk position, I am pretty sure anyone with substantial health care experience isn’t going to settle for a 4 hour a day job (a few bucks over minimum) with no benefits.  Though…it would have been perfect for me.

So I am now applying for more “would be perfect” jobs, and crossing my fingers that I at least get an interview.  It is disappointing to get notified by email that I didn’t get a job, when I didn’t even get an interview for the job.

A little voice is telling me I need to rewrite me resume or something.  Tony tells me there is just a exceedingly large job pool here, and he is right.  This county has a huge unemployment rate, apparently it is the 6th worst in the state of California.  So, it really isn’t me…it just is what it is.  On top of that, I am returning to the job market from being a mom…and…I don’t speak fluent Spanish, which is a big deal in my area.  Perhaps I need to invest in Rosetta Stone.

7 comments

  1. Sorry you didn’t get the job. Rosetta Stone would be a good investment. I hear nothing but great things about it.
    Yay for afternoon naps!


  2. Sorry to hear the job didn’t work out.

    That first week of all kids in school is someting else huh? Ours go back in a few weeks and while I look forward to it I still get lonely the first couple weeks.


  3. Bummer about the job and I am sorry.

    The silence, I actually miss Elena after about the first two days of school start.


  4. I’m sorry about the job stuff. I eventually want to get back in the workforce again but after being out of it for 8 years, I can’t imagine how hard it’s going to be. I think I’ll start going back to school first.

    I hope you are enjoy the silence and quiet around the house. I can’t even imagine what that would be like. Of course, I still have a year or two before both of mine will be in school. I’m hoping to put Viola in a preschool next fall. Freya starts school tomorrow. It will be a little more quiet and a lot less of hearing the phrase, “I’m bored.”


  5. The right JOb will materialize, you are resourceful and go for the gold!


  6. I understand about the silence, I thought it was great 🙂 Course now I have the baby and no more silence for 5 years.

    Sorry about the job and I definitely think Rosetta Stone would be a great idea, I’ve definitely thought about it.


  7. So sorry about the job thing. It’s a pretty tough time to find a job here in CA. I hope something great comes up for you soon.



Leave a Reply

